We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Sunday Lunch!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street

Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street
36 Kelvingrove Street, Glasgow G3 7RZ, Scotland (West End)
+44 (0)141 564 1157
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #98 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $0 - $61
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: West End
Description: We are 2 family run restaurants Sisters Kelvingrove and the other Sisters Jordanhill, Big & Wee sis have been opened 15years ago focusing on great Scottish produce with a homely feel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Been here a few times now and can't believe it's 88 on trip advisor for Glasgow restaurants?? It should definitely be in top 10. We had the 3 course lunch at £17.95, amazing value with glass wine added also. The food is really fab, had the prawn, crab and crayfish cocktail and can honestly say its probably the nicest starter I've EVER tasted! Really fresh with a lovely lemony dressing, could have eaten 3 of them.. Had really nice hake for main, wee bit more mash would have been good, but the langoustine sauce is to due for. Cracking wee restaurant, great service and glorious food, what more can you ask for, it's really a wee hidden gem

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macandblade, Owner at Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi There ScottishGirl74

What a fantastic review, you can come more often! I totally agree with the Seafood Cocktail it just started last week and I have racked up quite a few testers let me tell you, just to check the sauce is still being made correctly!
Even if we are number #88 with lovely comments from guests like yourself it makes The Sisters Team feel like #1. I shall have a look at Chef's mash spoon for a Sunday! We're trying to leave you room for pudding you know!
Thank you so much again it really perks the team up when we print off the Trip Advisor reviews so for making them smile today it taken the edge off them having to work in all this sunshine.#

Jacqueline O'Donnell
Big Sis
The Sisters
Glasgow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    82
    30
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sisters Restaurant Glasgow West End.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Having been to the Sisters Restaurant in kelvingrove street for first time, i was not impressed.I was a guest at a retirement party on Friday night on 3rd may 2013. Its an old tennament flat renovated and turned into a restaurant. The retirement party was in the front sitting room and over 50 attended. All the tables were joined edge to edge down both longest walls, guests at the wall side had no chance of getting out without disturbing half the guests.Room was booked for 7.00pm and starters served at 8.50pm, main course arived an hour later at 9.50 followed by desert at almost 11.00pm.Food was reasonable but the wait between courses caused concern for comfort as the seats were hard.far too small a room for catering to over 50 guests. At the end of the night it was discovered, a £100 surcharge was added to the bill. A total rip off after the time we had to wait on a meal.It might be better if a group of four goes for a meal. Not a partyof over 20. Must be gread, they would not get that amount of money on a normal nights teading.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macandblade, Owner at Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Robert1
Thank you very much for taking time to review The Sisters Kelvingrove, However I am so sorry you did not have a pleasant first time experience with us, We as a family restaurant, actually quite like having you as our guest in the "Front Room". I am sorry it was not to your liking, the numbers had increased quite considerably for the party so maybe thats why it was slightly tighter than normal. The reservation was actually for 7.30pm for a Champagne reception with dinner for 8/8.30pm my sincere apologies you had to wait such a long time to be served. The puddings were actually delayed by request of the Host as she wanted to make a speech without interuption. I hope this small gesture of apology goes someway to Appease you and maybe not to dislike The Sisters too much! Maybe if you are a table of four as you said you may enjoy it better if there is a next time. I'll even bring in the comfy armchair from my real front room!
Thank you again for your constructive criticism.
Jacqueline O'Donnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Having Spanish colleagues to entertain last minute I contacted The Sisters, Kelvingrove on the day to accommodate a table of 6.
As always, Jacqueline, Pauline and their team served a faultless meal if beautiful Scottish fayre.
Scallops, salmon, venison, beef the list(menu) goes on.

Fabulous as always ladies. You never let me down!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macandblade, Owner at Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello GGlen

Great wee mention for Team Sisters, thanks for taking the time to pop it on, it was a pleasure cooking for you and your collegues as always. I shall look forward to hosting Table 1 for you all the next they are over.
Jacqueline
Big sis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Eclectic Scottish cuisine: a flawless experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

From arrival to departure, this was an unparalleled success. Helpful, polite and attentive waiting staff helped set a classy yet comfortable atmosphere in this small restaurant, eloquently informing of us of the menu's detail. Pricing was very modest considering the standard of the cooking- extremely generous portions of sublime food; we could hardly finish! We choose à la carte, but they also do a set menu which, at £16.95 for three courses and a glass of wine (with last orders as late as 8.30PM Tuesday-Thursday!) is unbelievably good value.

Both meat and seafood were cooked to perfection, and complimented with hugely flavoursome sauces and a far more exciting selection of vegetables and sides than one usually finds. The imagination (and skill) of the chefs really is astounding. The décor is hugely stylish- although fortunately not at the expense of comfort- and the walls are decorated with several beautiful paintings by the same artist. All of this added up to make the best restaurant experience I've ever had: for eclectic Scottish cuisine, I can't imagine anywhere better!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macandblade, Owner at Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hi Stevetoast

What a fabulous review Thank you very much indeed for such a glowing report, it is compliments like this that make the whole teams' day, they were delighted when we passed round last weeks Trip Advisor reviews. Thanks again hope to see you soon.
Jacqueline
Big sis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Visited with my husband last Saturday night. Cosy restaurant, good service and nice food. My husband said his mushroom soup was the best he had had for a long time. I had the fish main course which was lovely but only half a small fillet of fish - not enough for most people. Having said that we will go back, probably on the pre theatre which is better value for money. There were a lot of people finishing that as we arrived. Some of the tables are very close together which could impact conversation for couples.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macandblade, Owner at Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Hello BosuDunn

Thank you very much for taking time to write a comment on Trip advisor, I do hope you make the trip up from Ayrshire to see us again,

Jacqueline
Big sis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sisters Restaurant - Kelvingrove Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.