We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grill Room at The Square

Grill Room at The Square
23-29 Royal Exchange Square, Glasgow G1 3AJ, Scotland (City Centre)
+44 (0)141 225 5610
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #331 of 1,884 Restaurants in Glasgow
Price range: $0 - $92
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: City Centre
Transit: Royal Exchange Square is located a mere 5 minutes walk from Glasgow Central and Queen Street train stations. The area surrounding is also well serviced by taxis and is approximately 10 miles from Glasgow Airport.
Description: The Grill Room is part of the spectacular 29 Members Club that overlooks the Royal Exchange Square in Glasgow. The restaurant is sophisticated without being overbearing, decorated with dark wooden floors, sumptuous drapes and elegant seating. The menu is equally lavish, arranged by award-winning chefs, and can typically include dishes such as the native Cullen Skink, chickrn stuffed with spiced prawns and grilled wild sea trout. Desserts are equally stylish and can include Eton Mess and chocolate tart with orange sorbet. Three courses, excluding wine, cost around £30 per person; luxurious dining at affordable prices.
Scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“first visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

went to this restaurant for the first time as i had been given vouchers as a gift.Booked the set pre theatre whch was fine.The starters were good, prawn cocktail and goats cheese tartlet.Main i had the beef stroganoff, other person fish cake also ordered chips, all in all a really nice meal and it was piping hot.Only down side was the lack of ambience, and also the waiter we had could hardly speak english, and was almost hauling your plate away before you finished.He also did this with the bill.Wine extremely expensive but to be expected for this type of place.Yes I would go back but feel the staff need to be a bit more pleasant and welcoming!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    104
    53
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Excellent Service & Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

My husband and I try to eat here at least once a month, which I cannot say about any other restaurant. The quality of service and the attention you receive from the moment you walk in the door, right through until your assisted with your coat at the end of the evening, make it well worth a visit. We book each time we go and have always been able to get a table by the window, which is so romantic with the lights now on permanently in the square. My husbands preference is a gourmet burger or such other manly meat dish that happens to be on the menu. I on the other hand tend to try something different, my favourite being the polenta cakes, which I know don't sound exciting, but these chefs cook them to perfection. They do great offers on a Friday with Wine & Dine and when your finished you can relax with some Cocktails or listen to some music. For the late nighter, you can dance the night away, but I'll stick to the food and wine everytime. If your in Glasgow and your lucky enough to know someone that can sign you in, do so, you'll not be disappointed. Table for 2 this Friday me thinks.....yummy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RighttoResponse, General Manager at Grill Room at The Square, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you very much for a lovely review - delighted you and your husband appreciate what we are trying to do.
While the Grill Room is situated within the Private Members Club it is accessible to the general public to sample what i believe to be the best steaks in Scotland.
We look forweard to welcoming you back soon.

Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We visited for a per-theatre meal costing £15.95 for 2 courses plus glass of wine. The complimentary bread to start is lovely, but my starter of melon and prosciutto was a bit on the small side. My friends' prawn cocktails were more substantial. We all had different mains and the chicken I had was deliciously moist and tasty. The only gripe is the lack of veg. I had a handful of peas, but a bowl of veg between us wouldn't have affected the profit margin too much! I personally dislike I having to pay for side dishes- just add a £ to the cost and give us them with dish. Otherwise, you're never sure whether they're needed or not. The service was good- friendly but not too intrusive. We had a lovely, relaxed dinner and will definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkhall
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Been before with a group of friends and was not impressed then, but decided to give it another try, as it was over Christmas.
Service was not great and were left waiting quite a while to have drinks order taken, never mind the food order. The food portion was small both on starter and main, no vegetables served for the majority of dishes and had to be ordered at ridiculous cost for the privilege!!!! This is not the best place to go if you have a healthy appetite, as you may need to get something when you leave.Not even the "complimentary" homemade fresh bread and butter or the mini shortbread with tablet served with the coffee was enough to satisfy the appetite of the average person.
If you are looking to impress with surroundings then come here but if you are looking for a good meal and realistic pricing then stay away!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good value pre-theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Returned once again and wasn't dissapointed catching the pre-theater after a bit of shopping is the ideal way to end the day, opted for the goats cheese flan and duck followed by lemon tart couldn't really fault any of it although did prefer the duck with the potato rosti, Mrs H had prawn cocktail, pork loin and strawberry pecan fool for desert no complaints.
Keep up the good work.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill Room at The Square also viewed

 

Been to Grill Room at The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grill Room at The Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.