We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you'd expect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Walkabout

Walkabout
128 Renfield Street, Glasgow, Scotland (City Centre)
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,284 of 1,876 Restaurants in Glasgow
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: City Centre
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What you'd expect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Typical Walkabout inside, quite large and spacey which is great later on in the night. The staff were super friendly and chatty, also changed the TV channel for us which is always appreciated when there's a game to watch. One complaint however - after having driven 7 hours from Cardiff, we arrived in Glasgow and headed to Walkabout. My friends ordered their food but I was still looking at the menu. I went up to order 10-15mins later to be told that the kitchen was closed - this was 7:30pm on a Friday night. I was ravenous and tired after the drive so really was in no mood for this. When asking them about it, I was told that they had recieved a large order so weren't taking any more. Even when I expalined that I was the only one in my party without food they didn't change their mind. At this point, their food hadn't even arrived so i had to watch them eat it and control my hunger for the duration of the game that we went there to watch. Nice one.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    27
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I did'nt even get a chance to try it.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I was really hoping to try the kangaroo loin as an escapism from Glasgow to Australia. Whilst waiting to order a glass wine and order my kangaroo steak loin, I was rudely pushed away by the bar staff. 'You need a table number', the chap shouted. I told him I already had a number. His attitude towards customers was rather shocking. I work in the industry and don't expect to part with my hard earned money on a place that has very little regard for customer. It's such a shame because I wanted to experience an Australian take on pub grub and boy did I get it. I really hope that this is an isolated incident and that he will reflect on he's behaviour and address. If that's how they expect to treat customer, they have no chance getting the custom of people like me because I will not tolerate such behaviour. All in all did not even get to try the kangaroo steak. Such a shame cos I was really looking forward to it. 'Brush up your act Walkabout'.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“everythings deep fried”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everythings deep fried, crispy, overcooked , tastless and lack variety. Drinks are overpriced, PLACE NEEDS A GOOD SCRUB

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go Walkabout!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I love walkabout's they are always a welcome sight in new city's, the beer's cheap and the atmosphere is always good. Great for days with the lads watching football, or a place to meet before you hit the town, just a shame the boomerang card doesn't exist anymore ;(

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cheap And The Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I had been to walkabout quite few times. its the best place to go with your friends to watch live football and cricket. the drinks are fairly cheap as well. looking forward to go again with friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkabout also viewed

 

Been to Walkabout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walkabout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.