We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The New Turban

The New Turban
2 Fenwick Place | Giffnock, Glasgow G46 6UF, Scotland
+44 141 638 9635
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 1,838 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We dined at the New Turban this weekend and had a lovely evening. We occasionally get take out from here but had not eaten in in some time, and we were not disappointed.

We were seated and automatically given water, no one should need to be asked if they want water in a restaurant, it's free from the tap and a nice touch when brought without asking.

Some complimentary spiced onions and poppadoms would have been nice but we had to order these, this is not a gripe, but things you remember.

Gee our waiter took the time and interest in our questions about the menu. He recommended the lamb shank with extra green chillies as one of us likes a bit of a kick without compromising on flavour. Our other dish was a tikka chasni. Both were outstanding and the shank should be put on the menu not just a special as I will definitely look for this again.

The food, service and atmosphere were second to none and I would highly recommend.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    17
    2
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Giffnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Lovely food and reasonably big portions. The New Turban is one of the best Indians in the area. I've never had a bad experience here. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. The sorbet was delicious!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Very friendly helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere with a buzz, intimate booths, very nice menu, delicious food, owners shouldn't change a thing

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We booked a meal for two in advance and were given a terrible seat. The Take Away section is right beside the main restaurant and people waiting for take-away food spill out onto the seating area for diners. My partner had the delivery man's elbow about an inch away from his face during most of the main course - it's very poor when the staff don't realise how important the dining experience is. The table we were given should clearly not be used for diners but they obviously want to squeeze as many people in as possible and give scant regard to the experience of the diners. The food was very nice, can't fault that. But the dining experience includes the environment, the ambiance etc and this was very poor. We did raise this with the waiter who could only suggest we ask for a better table next time! Diners should be able to reasonably expect a decent table, it shouldn't have to be requested specially. We won't be returning to this restaurant. We left at the end of our main course as it was cold and draughty due to the location of our table, we practically had the delivery men sitting at our table and the waiter we spoke to made no attempt to make any amends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Second to None service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Went with family for our Dad's birthday. Facilitated the birthday well with a free sticky toffee pudding. Not a single complaint about the food, delicious. Staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful and had great chat with Tommy and Gee, who asked for a special mention ;) Good job you guys.

-Sam Watt

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Turban also viewed

Giffnock, East Renfrewshire
 
Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to The New Turban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Turban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.