We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Seafood Restaurant

The Seafood Restaurant
Bruce Embankment, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland
01334479475
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 107 restaurants in St. Andrews
Price range: $24 - $101
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A brilliant meal. Excellently executed fixed price menu. Great wine list; amuse bouche and palate cleansing mid course gestures were very welcome. Well made breads and a superb view, even at night, Service splendid. A good place to go for a 'formal',meal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    202
    106
    62
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch in an amazing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently visited The Seafood Restaurant in St. Andrews for the first time since my wife and I first dined there almost 6 years ago. We were really pleased to find that everything about it was as great as we had remembered. We chose from the lunch menu which was very reasonably priced and included an amazing Seabass dish. Service was impeccable and the atmosphere relaxed and unpretentious. The menu was varied and the wine list comprehensive. The set menu was great value for money and We certainly won't leave it so long until our next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staveley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fabulous Fish and windy waves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

On a blowy Monday in April we took my mum for lunch in this wonderful glass cube over hanging the sea. The views were stunning, the staff were helpful and courteous and the food was interesting and delicious.
We had a really pleasant time and hope to go back again before the end of our week's stay in Scotland.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a fantastic setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Superbly cooked food although the portions were a bit on the mean side. If you can get a table by the window the view is stunning. Service was average and a bit slow. Had to ask several times for a jug of water before it arrived. Very pricy wine list but good quality.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant food. Amazing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant on a cold Wednesday evening. It was not busy but still a nice atmosphere. Food was really first class. Both my wife and I love seafood and eat fish often, so can be hard to please. TSR hit the mark on every level, with the real high points for us being the velouté starter and the monkfish with lentils and sausage. The view is quite something adding to the whole occasion. Not the cheapest meal but still worth every penny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.