We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to watch the golfers go by.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Road Hole Restaurant

Road Hole Restaurant
Old Station Road | Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
+44 1334 474371
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 108 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Price range: $30 - $86
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With an award-winning team, the very best of Scotland’s larder and a passion and flare for the delicious and delectable. This is the Road Hole Restaurant at the Old Course Hotel - The Home of Scottish Cuisine in the Home of Golf.
LIttle Rock, AR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Fun place to watch the golfers go by.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Perfect spot to have an after round cocktail or beverage. A nice snack menu also. We sat in the sunshine for about two hours with friends chatting about our day. Be aware that the service is slow though.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Living quite close to St Andrews we tend to overlook certain eating places but we decided today to have Sunday lunch in the Road Hole Restaurant at the Old Course Hotel. We were greeted and taken to our table by the window overlooking the Old Course itself and over towards the town of St Andrews. The menu offered a glass of Prosecco, following by 3 courses each with 3 choices. The food was beautifully presented, perfectly seasoned and quite delicious and we thought at £24.50 each, it was very good value. We added a cup of coffee which came with 3 sweet things each, a truffle, a jelly and a tiny meringue filled with cream, all three delicious, and it was very good coffee. The view was stunning on this beautiful day. Lots of people walking on the Old Course which is closed for golf on Sundays and the public are welcome to walk on it. Many were walking their dogs and they were loving the freedom of running around on the fairways. It was a lovely experience and we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Great View, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

After going to the driving range the four of us had been advised to have coffee on the deck overlooking the course. Exiting the elevator, Remi asked if we wanted to dine. We said we didn't have a reservation and didn't feel dressed well enough. He made us feel welcome and said not to worry, we were just fine. He then took us to the deck (incredible view) where we had coffee while he prepared a table. It was overlooking the course and the view was just as good as the deck. Steven was our waiter and we ordered the tasting menu. He was equally friendly and gracious and the food was wonderful. Just as we would finish one course, Steven brought the next. At the end of the meal it was late and most of the restaurant had cleared out so, Steven took us around to show where golf balls had hit the windows and then took us down the hall to another room for a better perspective.
We went in just to get coffee and ended up having one of the best experiences of our trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a less is more review.

Venue, ambience and view exceptional.

Service levels of the highest standard.

The tasting menu was both delicious and imaginative. Have eaten tasting menus in Michelin star restaurants and the food compares favourably. Well worth the money.

Will certainly dine here again. Well done Old Course Hotel.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent experience all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Thank you to Gordon for the welcome, to Chris, our wait person, to the other staff, for a wonderful first time experience of the taste menu. We had a prime table overlooking the golf course and so were able to watch the last of the golfers and watch the fog roll in and out which was quite dramatic. The taste menu was varied, portions were just right and I managed to get through all of it. I particularly enjoyed the haibut dish, although all were very flavioursome with some interesting combinations of taste. The waiters were knowledgeble about the food and friendly in a very professional manner. Their timing was spot on. It was the birthday of one of the party and at then end a plate of petit fours with Happy Birthday in chocolate was a very nice touch. I thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Thank you all very much

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road Hole Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Road Hole Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Road Hole Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.