We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, central, modern hotel with a few minor faults” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Greyfriars Hotel to your Saves list
Greyfriars Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice, central, modern hotel with a few minor faults”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a nice, comfortable and secure hotel in the heart of St. Andrews ( a beautiful NE Scottish town) Comfy beds, large room and well laid out with a nice view. It is above a bar which may bother some but I found the room quiet (although returned once the bar had closed) and the bed comfy. Only a few minor problems - TV very small, no light above the mirror and a couple of problems in the bathroom. Bathroom was very clean and spacious with very large fluffy bathtowels. Problem with the glass shower curtain as the positioning meant you couldn't actually open it up and we never worked out how to fill the bath - it seemed to be broken with only the shower part working which was a shame and whilst bubble bath, handwash and shampoo were provided there was no soap or shower gel!
Breakfast was delicious and included in the price. Overall a pleasant stay with a friendly atmosphere and helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    75
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
41
72
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed at Greyfriars for Valentines weekend. The room was spotless and very nicely laid out, with rose petals decorating the bed! The bed was a comfy king size and the room had all the expected amenities, although the TV was a bit too small for watching from the bed. There was not a good light at the mirror for hair / make up.
There was noise from the street - unavoidable in a town centre hotel. It was fairly sporadic and didn't cause too much of a problem. However, the noise from the floor above was appalling - someone seemed to be pacing the floors for quite some time!
Food in the bar was of a reasonable standard - fine for a quick meal when you've just arrived, but not for a special dinner.
Breakfast was also to a reasonable standard, but totally agree with earlier comment about rubberiest scrambled eggs ever. Hot water in jugs for making tea - this just does not work! PLEASE consider making fresh tea on request.
Check out was fairly abrupt with a bit of patronising charm.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

A modern hotel in the centre of St Andrews, the location of this hotel is great. The rooms are quite small but are well equipped and have everything you need. Lovely fluffy white towels.
Strange check in as there's no reception - you check in at the end of the bar and the barmen give you your keys etc but it's ok.
Breakfast is pretty good and the staff are pretty friendly.
Overall a good value hotel in good location, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Just came back this morning and writing this through bleary eyes.
We went to this hotel as a one night stopover as we were going to a local theater for a show.I travelled with the wife and my 2 7 year olds.We were booked into a family room-room 107.More on this later
It is a nice hotel-food good, attentive bar staff and big breakfasts. But here's my problem-we got in at 11pm on the Sat night, put the wee ones to bed and settled down ready for a nights sleep-the idea being to go for a walk round St.Andrews the next day (we've been a few times).
About 11.30, it all kicked off-music, shouting, screams, whooping-general party stuff-this went on for about 3-4 hours. We think it was local neighbours, with some sort of unlicensed bar, adjacent to the hotel.As a result we didn't get a wink of sleep.Went to breakfast shattered, with a 2 hour drive in front of us.
Here's the rub-we complained to the manager-not nasty but put the point across.She seemed to recognise the issue we had had straight away, as if other people had had the same problem. Fair enough, she said we should have told them straight away and she would have got the police. Great for the hotel but not for us.If, as I suspect, they (police) get in touch with us, they are onto plums. What greatly dissapointed me was no offer of a discount on the bill, no compensation, nothing.
As a result, I wont be recommending this to anybody and would urge others to look at other hotels in St.Andrews as there are others just as good. No point in going for 18 holes if your sleep deprived but are still expected to pay the FULL bill because of something the management are aware of but dont financially offset you for. Travellers beware

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

I recently spent 2 days at Greyfriars Hotel, St Andrews with my husband. It is in an ideal location,which was great for us to catch a bit of time with our son who is at Uni there. I can't praise this hotel enough really. Our room was spotless and more than adequate with a great bathroom (these can often, in my experience, be a let down). Our hosts were really warm and friendly, which goes along way to creating a really good chilled ambience.

The hotel's restaurant is really popular so booking is recommended and we hadn't! Don't make the mistake like we did, of dining in the nearby Oak Rooms. The food here is really mediocre to say the least.... Back to Greyfriars, oh the breafasts! They are really delicious. We have feasted on smoked salmon with eggs, a full Scottish and tasty grilled ham and eggs (not all at once!) This kept us going to well into the late afternoon. Lighter options are available if you are aren't as piggy as us!

We took in a film at the local cinema. Very traditional, spotless and cosy. Such a lovely change from the souless multiplexes. Also enjoyed a drive round the coast. There are some characterful working fishing villages here and Anstruther is one of them. I wish I could remember the name of the award-winning fish and chips place here. The battered smoked haddock is wonderful. If in doubt, ask a local as it's highly recommended on a bitingly cold day.

Dundee is popular among students for shopping, clubs/bars. Although St Andrews has numerous pubs and bars, it is lacking in nightclubs. Therefore, I can quite understand the attraction of Dundee for this purpose. For us though, the place was frankly, depressing, and we left an hour after arriving. I'm sure more research could have pointed us towards its more positive attributes. So best to keep an open mind!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed at the Greyfriars Hotel for one night in August 2009. It is a nice, clean and modern hotel in the heart of St. Andrews. The sea is just in walking distance as well as many stores and cafes. The staff is very friendly and breakfast was very good. You can choose from a menu list.

I also tried the free WiFi but the connection depends on where your room is located.
Free parking is available in front of the hotel.

There is a bar on the ground floor, but you don't hear the noise in your room. The only "negative" thing is that the walls of the rooms are a bit thin. In the morning I could hear that my neighbor was taking a shower.

But all in all it is a very nice hotel, clean and well-located. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

The rooms were spacious and comfortable, also excellent bathrooms. The restaurant was good....good bar scene and fantastic breakfast. The staff was friendly and helfpul in every way. Parking around the corner for free. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Address: 129 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is a family run hotel based in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the largest selection of Cask Ales and bottled beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greyfriars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.