We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£30 for a Superior Double Room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greyfriars Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greyfriars Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greyfriars Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in St. Andrews
Fife
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“£30 for a Superior Double Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Visiting my daughter at the University and needed a room for the night -stayed December 7th.

When I booked the night before through Late Rooms I thought an error had ocurred when it came up with £30 for a single room.

Imagine my delight on arrival to be ushered into a double with walk in shower,, sofa, huge bed, big tv et al.

I was most upset this hotel didn't include breakfast at this rate.........joke !!

Night Porter was telling me when the open or such was on the same room would be £250.

Bar area was very smart with a sectioned dining area.

Deal of the century a 4 star room for less than most Travelodges.

Room Tip: Always use a consolidator to check the best rates !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    58
    13
    9
    6
See reviews for
29
59
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We had a wedding to attend in St Andrews so booked in at Greyfriars. We weren't expecting much, but were very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, comfortable, and inviting. The bathroom was spotless. The customer service was excellent. The beer selection at the bar was a lovely surprise (Innis & Gunn on tap!) and the breakfast was delicious, with good sized servings, efficient service, and a piping hot flask of coffee at the table. In the end, we were sad that we only had the one night to stay, as we enjoyed it so thoroughly. If ever we need to go to St Andrews again, we would book into Greyfriars without hesitation. Top marks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Spent last weekend with 15 friends in this wonderful hotel. Owned and run by a great couple Jinty and Jim. Their warmth and hospitality make it feel like home every time I stay here (this was my 6th visit). Location is perfect - 300m from 1st Tee on the Old Course and 2 mins walk to Main St. Restaurant and bar are excellent with great staff. Looking forward to 2012 already!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Travelled with 15 friend to play golf in St Andrews. We were welcomed off the bus on arrival, greeted one by one and treated like royalty for the duration of our stay. The location is ideal, 5 mins to the old course in the centre of town, no taxis required here. The staff are very helpful, no request was too much. The rooms are very spacious and clean with everything you would need, especially when you get one each. The food is great with a large varied menu and the bar is better stocked than any in town. You will not find a fairer priced place to stay of this quality with the friendliest of management and staff. Our fifth year here and by no means our last.

Room Tip: They're all good, second floor quiter if that's what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here with three buddies on a week-long golf trip. Great location, with large, clean rooms - nothing fancy, but perfect for our kind of trip. Very helpful staff - they accommodated our scheduling and dietary requests for breakfast with a smile and great flexibility.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at Greyfriars with my husband and young son, as we attended a wedding at the Old Course Hotel. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance of Old Course, but at a significantly better price! It's a shame we didn't get to spend more time in the hotel, as the room was gorgeous. Really spacious, with lots of nice add ons.

The staff were lovely - really friendly and welcoming. And breakfast was fabulous. Lots of nice options, instead of just fried rubbish.

All and all a nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bearsden scotland uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

stayed at greyfriars with my wife on a trip to see grandchildren who were at local caravan site.stayed in room 101 which is facing the main road and looking up greyfriars gardens.we had two sets of windows a settee,armchair and table and chair with a 32" plasma wall mounted in a very large room.a continual flow of university students some in gowns passed on their way to lectures and created a colourful and busy scene. we ate in the hotel with the grandchildren and the food was excellent and service (supplied by uni students ) was top class.hotel is part of a privately owned chain and directors and staff were more than helpful.a great choice if going to st andrews and reasonably priced.our third visit and will be back.

Room Tip: our room was excellent and have asked for it specfically-can be some noise from the street at times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greyfriars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greyfriars Hotel

Address: 129 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Greyfriars Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greyfriars Hotel is a family run hotel based in the centre of St Andrews. We offer both excellent accommodation and food. We have the largest selection of Cask Ales and bottled beers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Greyfriars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greyfriars Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greyfriars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.