We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B in St. Andrews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hoppity House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppity House
Save
You added Hoppity House to your Saves list
4 Murray Park St, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 78 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent B&B in St. Andrews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Recently stayed at Hoppity House with my mom and sisters on a girls trip. Perfect central location to golf, attractions, restaurants and pubs. Gordon was a great host! Excellent fresh breakfast every day, very personable and the rooms, linens and accessories were all top notch and very well done! Thanks Gordon!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    21
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
30
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Hoppity.Rooms were clean and comfortable.Breakfast was terrific- the best coffee I have had in a hotel anywhere!Gordon is very hospitable and helpful,and best of all he was very relaxed about having our well trained dog stay with us.
All in all,much to recommend this guest house,which is perfectly situated to enjoy everything that St Andrews has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hoppity House is wonderfully located, the rooms are comfortable and you could not find a more hospitable innkeeper than Gordon - not to mention his outstanding culinary skills for the breakfast table.

Room Tip: There are different sizes of rooms. We had a small room and thought it might be worth the little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed at Hoppity House - best location in that charming city. Gordon was the best innkeeper any one could ever ask for - everything was so perfect and just like a dream. The rooms were spotless as was the bathroom and the delightful breakfast. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in "the largest room" - it faced the street and was just so charming. Great blac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The Hoppity House has a great central location with restaurants and basically the entire town in easy walking distance. Gordon was an exemplary host. He is extremely friendly and inviting(seems like he really loves his job). Everything is spotlessly clean and breakfast was hardy and delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much we prolonged it an extra night. Upon departure Gordon helped us on our journey to our next journey and we didn't feel rushed out the door one bit. If i were to ever return to St. Andrews I would most definitely give Gordon a call.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Going to St Andrews,? if you need a B&B then this is the place to stay with the best breakfast ever,
so you will see us again, greetings by fam H. from Holland.

Room Tip: by swimmingpool i meant the sea....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Excellent B&B in prime location - quality breakfast and spotless rooms - particularly liked the 40 inch TV in room 3. The Beery Hikers are planning to return for another stay once we have established our next adventure. Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Address: 4 Murray Park St, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoppity House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.