We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hoppity House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hoppity House
Save
You added Hoppity House to your Saves list
4 Murray Park St, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location and great host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in Nov 2011. Gordon and Heather the hosts are very friendly and helpful and cooked a lovely breakfast. The bedroom was clean, comfortable and decor modern. Located just a couple of minutes walk to town or the beach, you could park on the street outside the B&B, we would stay here again if visiting the area.

We had a slight problem with the cold water in the sink, but Gordon provided us with more than enough bottled water to compensate whilst he got it mended.

Good luck to Gordon and Heather we hope the business works out well for you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    21
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
29
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I would recommend to everyone spending time in St. Andrews to choose Hoppity House for accomodation. It's excellent in every respect. It's located just a few meters to the sea and many parts of university and "downtown" St. Andrews. My room was modernly furnished, very clean, well taken care of, and offered everything you need for a pleasant stay. But most importantly, staff was super nice and helpful. They also offer an extensive breakfast, the components of which you're free to choose yourself. Top rating! :-)

Room Tip: I was assigned the room on the ground floor, which is next to the kitchen / reception. I personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

A very friendly and welcoming place to stay. Great breakfast and a very comfortable room. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

No complaints at all regarding my stay here and I would gladly reccommend this BnB. Great value for money, perfect location, clean and modern rooms and tasty, cooked to order breakfast. Gordon was a great host and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were at Hoppity House for a graduation in June and absolutely loved it. Gordon was delightful and helpful. After a full Hoppity House breakfast we were set until dinner--- Amazing eggs, salmon, cereal the works. Our room was bright and cheerful and the location could not have been better. Thanks for a fabulous stay. =)

Room Tip: Our Room on the second floor over looking the street was bright and cheerful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Was not impressed! I had booked 2 rooms by phone with confirmation email received from Gordon and when I arrived he had no rooms available as he had double booked and was initially insisting it was my error-until I showed him the confirmation he had sent. He was not particularly apologetic and although he did call a few other places they were all full so we were left at 5pm with no place to stay and a wedding to attend in the morning

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

What a wonderful place to stay. Great location. Service was outstanding, I had to arrange for a late arrival and Gordon couldn't be more accomindating! New and clean rooms. I will recommend to ANY one staying in St Andrews! Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hoppity House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoppity House

Address: 4 Murray Park St, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hoppity House Hotel St. Andrews
Hoppity House St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hoppity House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.