We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Craigmore Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Craigmore Guest House
Save
You added Craigmore Guest House to your Saves list
Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 78 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Craigmore Guest House is clean, well organized and well run. A warm welcome from the proprietoress awaits you, and the Old Course is a 5 minute walk away, at most.

The breakfast is a delight and the location couldn't be better! Try it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
14
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently stayed at Craigmore on the recommendation of a family member and I have to say we weren’t disappointed. Craigmore offers a quaint family setting and is so close to the beach, town and golf course. Our room was comfortable and clean.The beds were comfortable. The staff could not be more helpful and welcoming, offering to help where ever possible. Breakfast was more than adequate with an extensive choice, ranging from the full Scottish breakfast, kippers, porridge and much more. We were asked how we would like our eggs, fried, scrambled, boiled etc. Even the porridge was made to our taste. There was fresh fruit and warm croissants and a variety of fresh juices. Plenty of tea and coffee. There is a good lounge to sit in where there is access to a computer and television. If you are considering visiting St Andrews, I would certainly recommend Craigmore and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Engaged the entire lodge for our three days in St. Andrews for golf. The rooms were spartan but functioned well and were clean. The beds were average but served their purpose well-sleep. The rooms on the road are situated where the local seabirds could squawk you awake starting at 4:30 AM. The bathrooms are small and using the small sink would wet your feet if you were not carefull. The breakfast was adequate with much variety and the staff was willing to prepare eggs anyway you liked. They grumbled when we needed breakfast earlier than the usual 8:15 but did it nevertheless so just accept the grumbling and don't let it bother you. The location is perfect for golf and local restaurants so you can park your car and leave it during your visit to St. Andrews. The price is outstanding and paying more would be a waste for a bunch of guys playing 36 holes each day who left by 8:30 each morning and returned around 11 PM. The place reminded me of a large college dorm room but that's all you need!

Room Tip: Away from road if possible or bring ear plugs for the birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We were lucky enough to get a family room at this Guest House at the very last minute. It is ideally located a short walk from the beach, the town centre and the pictures. The room was very clean although with a double bed and two singles it was slightly cramped but fine for a couple of nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful both on booking in and at breakfast. If returning to St Andrews I would certainly stay at Craigmore again. The only downside was the seagulls and the noise they made but that is outwith the control of the owners.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

The innkeepers are a warm and friendly couple who make staying here a lovely experience. I was here on a job interview, and they cheered me on during the whole process. The rooms are comfy and clean; the breakfasts are excellent; and the location is ideal. You can't go wrong with the Craigmore -- it's a model B & B!!! You will enjoy your stay here (and yes, I did get the job).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have stayed at Craigmore probably 15 times in the past 12 years. This is an excellent B&B in a great location and a really good value. Nicole and Craig are wonderful hosts, very helpful with restaurant reservations, and anything else our group needed. We stayed for 1 week on our latest visit and once again, were more than pleased with the hospitality. The breakfast is great and the Old Course is only about a par 4 walk from the Craigmore. The rooms are comfortable. The bathrooms are modern and larger than you typically find in a B&B. There are also many good restaurant choices within easy walking distance. I will always stay at Craigmore when I visit St Andrews as it cost a fraction of what the full service hotels cost without sacrificing any comforts. The service is always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We've been using this B&B for nearly a year now, and would not consider going anywhere else! The couple who run it are very friendly and accommodating, nothing is ever too much hassle and we're now on first name basis. I stay at Craigmore for business and pleasure trips to St Andrews, and have never been disappointed. The rooms are always clean, comfortable and have every convenience. Excellent breakfasts as well! Highly recommend this B&B, perfect location is just another bonus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Craigmore Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigmore Guest House

Address: Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Craigmore Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigmore Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.