We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scotland at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlemount Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlemount Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Castlemount Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
2 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 78 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Scotland at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Castlemount St. Andrews has everything you're looking for in your Scotland experience. Located at the shore of the sea overlooking the old castle it's your home in Scotland with comfortable rooms, delicious home made breakfast and hosts with a heart.

You'll be looked after and taken care - we've been visiting Castlemount for the second time and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
42
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the Castlemount over the weekend of the 15th/16th March. From arrival to departure the owners Jerry and Linda-Anne were excellent hosts .
We where on a University visit , and can honestly we will be using the Castlemount for future visits if our son goes to St Andrews.
We had a family room( the patio room) which where 2 ajoining rooms , the main being very large . Both beautifully decorated and cosy. Breakfast was fantastic , something for everyone . Cooked breakfasts , fresh fruit , home made pancakes and maple syrup.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Booked at random because it was convenient for a business trip to the University. However, from now on this is where I'll stay in St. Andrews, whether for work or a family holiday. Glorious location -- the breakfast room looks on the castle and the West Sands. Charming, welcoming owners. Comfy room and great breakfast. Superb!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Our room was tiny but since we spent our days touring the town, it was more than adequate. We had our own little bath and, again, it served us well. Breakfast was excellent -- better than the average US B&B, with a wide selection of cold and hot foods. The house is about 15 minutes' walk from the bus station and is not for the mobility-impaired, as the rooms are up one or two flights of stairs and there is no lift or bellman to help. Proprietors were friendly (even talkative) and pleasant. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at this charming B&B. The owners made us feel completely welcome from the minute we arrived and nothing was too much trouble; the level of personal service was truly exceptional. We stayed in the patio rooms; a large, comfortable double bed with adjoining single bedroom and bathroom. The bedrooms were spacious and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was very clean with plenty of fluffy towels. The highlight was surely the delicious breakfasts (try the pancakes!) in the top floor breakfast room, with superb sea views over the old castle. I cannot recommend Castlemount enough; we're looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I only have good words for our experience at this lovely B&B. I stayed there one night in October with my husband and four other friends. Everything about Castlemount is wonderful - the location (with beautiful views to the sea and castle), the house (beautiful and very warm), the bedrooms (cozy and quiet), the breakfast (amazing! Please try the pancakes!), and specially the hosts. Jerry is just wonderful - welcoming, friendly, helpful, he made us feel at home from the moment we walked through the door. I'm only sorry we could only stay one night, I would have stayed so much longer! I am already thinking about how to fit it in to a return visit to Scotland... in fact, I left there thinking that if I ever need some time to myself, Castlemount will be the place to go, without a doubt. If you're reading this, Jerry, kind regards from your guests from "all over Spain". Thank you very much for everything!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Would go again tomorrow if I had the time. We booked a twin room to stay in St Andrews for two days of golf. Castlemount was exactly what you'd hope a B&B in St Andrews would be - characterful, welcoming, warm, spacious, central yet quiet, great sea views and a host who went out of his way to help us feel at home. Just go....you won't be disappointed. p.s This is the first TripAdvisor comment I've ever been compelled enough to write!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlemount Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlemount Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Castlemount Hotel St. Andrews
Castlemount Bed And Breakfast St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlemount Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.