We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doune Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Doune Guest House
Save
You added Doune Guest House to your Saves list
5 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Rick Steve's was right again! My wife and I just stayed at the Doune House in St. Andrews and came away tremendously impressed with every aspect of our two night stay. Our room was spacious, bright, airy and impeccably clean. Comfortable beds, fluffy towels and very quiet. Our very entertaining host, Dell, served up a delicious breakfast each morning along with commentary that had us chuckling throughout the day.
St. Andrews is extremely charming and walkable to begin with, but the Doune House is perfectly located, mere steps from the Old Course and tremendous restaurants. When we return to St. Andrews, we will definitely stay at the Doune House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
36
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Due to the 100% favourable reviews on Trip Advisor I was delighted to find availability here. I stayed in a single room for 5 nights during the Ricoh Ladies Open and was looked after perfectly.
The proprietors are so welcoming and are happy to sit down in the small dining room and chat away with you.

Single bedroom though small was perfect for me and the bed was most comfortable. My ragged bed-making was immaculately tidied every day. Shower room first class and lovely personalised breakfast (just fill in sheet with your requests the previous evening).

All the local info you could wish for and an added bonus for me was the free use of an umbrella. The one I chose could also be used as a walking stick.

Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Single room is on the 3rd floor. Shower room, though not en-suite, is adjacent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Doune House while travelling to St. Andrews. What a wonderful experience. The house is impeccably clean and the "Scottish" Breakfasts were wonderful and came with stories of the area and lots of tips on what to do when we were not playing golf. Maria and Dell were most accommodating and helped us to find places to eat and even made us some needed reservations! On our last day of golf we needed to leave rather early and Maria graciously got up early and had it ready for us.
As far as location, it could not be better. Within a 10 minute walk to the Old course and within a short drive to many other amazing courses.
We highly recommend the Doune house if you are in the area!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed three nights at Doune House, and the experience was excellent. My husband is a golfer and the location is about 150 metres from the first tee at the Royal and Ancient golf course. They were able to provide excellent information and insights into all golfing at St Andrews. Our room was amazing, it was large, well appointed, great ensuite facilities, spotlessly clean with a large window to allow in the sunshine. Maria and Del were excellent hosts, and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would thoroughly recommend a stay at Doune House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Exceptionally clean, friendly & cozy. Stayed on a golf vacation during some very rainy days; every day the proprietors accommodated us in drying out our clubs and gear to be ready for the next day. No over packing was necessary. Dell & Maria made certain to make dinner reservations for us every night.
Close enough to the Old Course we walked and carried our clubs.
Thank you Maria & Dell!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed at Doune House for four nights on a golf trip with three buddies. Thank you so much Del and Marie for the absolutely perfect accomodations. The house was extremely clean and the beds were great. The breakfast was outstanding (even when Marie got up really early to feed us before an early tee time). Everything we needed was provided without asking, and they even gave us great tips on things to do around town. It was literally like staying with family. I'm just sorry we had to leave because I know Del wanted to hear more about my Hole-In-One. (Right?) I would highly recommend Doune House to anyone staying in St. Andrews, for golf or otherwise.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Excellent and friendly Little Hotel just 2 Minuten away from The clubhouse.
Very friendly and helpful, we Enjoyed our stay very much, definitely a come back.
I would Renommend it to anybody. Breakfast was Perfect, The Roms are in exzellent Sharpe and The Price (45 GBP) is also ok

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doune Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doune Guest House

Address: 5 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Doune Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doune Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.