We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Braeside House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Braeside House to your Saves list
Braeside House
25 Nelson Street, St. Andrews KY16 8AJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Spent four lovely nights in this delightful bed and breakfast. Our room was spotless and cosy as was the rest of the house.The garden was beautiful a lot of hard work has gone into it.Our hosts Margaret and James made us very welcome and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from. Location ideal 5mins from town centre 10mins walk to golf course. Cant wait to return next year with my clubs to give James a good spanking on the fairways. Neville and Julie.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Thank you for the kind words in your review of our B&B. You were delightful guests and I look forward to your return next year and accepting your challenge on the golf course
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
34
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Enjoyed a 2 night stay at this clean and comfortable B&B. Made to feel at home by the owners who created a warm and friendly atmosphere. Good, hearty breakfast provided. Good location, 10 minute stroll from the town centre and 15 mins to the first tee on the 'Old Course', if your a golfer. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The B&B is very cosy and comfortable, and lovely friendly owners. Fantastic breakfast in the morning! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and for the kind things you said. You were a lovely guest and we will be delighted to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORKI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

The house and garden were lovely, our hosts made us feel like family, and breakfast was great. It doesn't get any better than that!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We enjoyed our 2-night stay at this small, well-kept, and conveniently located B&B. The Scottish breakfast was excellent, the owners were pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the downstairs bedroom which unfortunately was a little noisy, since it was right next to the front door. The other drawback to being close to a main street was that the traffic at night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania,
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

No need to look any further for quality B&B accommodation in St Andrews, especially if you are a golfer. Even before we arrived, James and Margaret were more than happy to answer any queries about our stay and put our minds at ease.
Perfect location to walk in to the main shopping and eating areas of the town and just a few minutes more down to the Old Course.
James was just brilliant in organising three Couldhavebeen golfers to ballot for a start time on the Old course - which he managed on the second day.
The rooms were more than comfortable and the breakfasts superb.
A great bonus was free internet and off-street parking.
But most of all it was the first class hospitality and advice!
Cannot find any negatives and highly recommended!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for the downstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesy39, Owner at Braeside House, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you very much for the kind comments.
We have had people from many parts of the world staying with us but you were our first from Tasmania and delightedful guestsyou were! We are so pleased that your 50th birthday trip was so memorable.
Haste Ye Back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed from Monday to Friday and it was a great place to stay! James and Margaret were great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great and set you up for the day ahead. The accommodation was comfortable and of a very high standard.

The location was literally minutes away from the town centre, which means my car had a rest though my legs didn't..

We will certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 2 was bright and overlooked the front garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Braeside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braeside House

Address: 25 Nelson Street, St. Andrews KY16 8AJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome to our modern,4*,Family Home in the historic town of St Andrews the Home of Golf. Most importantly in St Andrews,Braeside House has ample parking facilities,though you may not need your car anyway as we are literally five minutes walking distance from the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Braeside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braeside House St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Braeside House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.