We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Five Pilmour Place to your Saves list
Five Pilmour Place
5 Pilmour Place, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

There is really not much more to say than perfect!
Me and my boyfriend really recomend this wonderful b&b. It was clean, looked beautiful, had good breakfast (gluten free) and lovely hosts. If we are ever going back to st.Andrews there is no doubt as to where we would want to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you found everything to your satisfaction. We are always trying to improve our breakfast menu to include gluten free choices for our guests. Look forward to welcoming you back should you get the opportunity to return to St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
49
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Five Pilmour Place is, quite simply, a Scottish B&B paradise. Everything is sterling-perfect, from the full Scottish Breakfast, to the wonderful staff, to the bedrooms and bathrooms, to the location.

Jackie was an amazing hostess, very flexible, even allowing us to leave our bags in the dining room for several hours after we checked out before heading back to Edinburgh. Carolina was an absolute joy to talk to in the morning during breakfast. The breakfast itself is very delectable, and the family-style dining guarantees that you leave after breakfast with new friends.

The rooms are very spacious and are put together very well; not a single lightbulb was out (one of my pet peeves), the beds were reasonably comfortable, and there was plenty of storage space for clothing and luggage. The blackout shades were welcome, providing reasonable privacy from the street below. The bathroom was fantastic and very large, with a bathtub the size of a small boat, and just about as sea-worthy! The temperature in the rooms was always comfortable, and the heated floors and towel racks were quite welcome. These simple things really make a hotel room home.

There was a bit of street-noise late at night, which I attribute to the students' partying; staying off-season does have its drawbacks.

The location; ah, perfection. But a few minutes walk to the Scores (affording breathtaking sunrises and wonderful vistas of St. Andrews) and the Old Course, and about a five minutes walk to the city centre, Five Pilmour Place could not have been in a better place. Also, its central location to the bus stop was paramount.

All things considered, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would suggest that you try to get a room not so much on the street; a side room would definitely b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & found everything to your liking. We try our upmost to offer our guests the best possible facilities and are always looking for ways to improve. Hope that you may have the opportunity to return to St Andrews in the future & stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our hosts Jackie and Norman provided a haven for eight Antipodean golf nuts in St Andrews. A four iron (or 23 degree utility club for some) to the first tee of the hallowed Old Course and a sand wedge to the Dunvegan Pub with Auchterlonies golf shop available to re-grip, re-shaft and rejuvenate your game at a moment's notice this is the ideal location for anyone interested in golf indulgence.
There is a wide variance of rooms for sharing, couples, flying solo or retreating to the garden.
The rooms are services daily so you can always find your lost pencil, scorecard and ball marker from the previous day when you return.
There is parking nearby - even when you have a large van.
It is also stumbling distance from the plentiful public houses and restaurants which serve the often transient population of this university town.
They provide a wide range of choice of breakfast with continental with fresh fruit and juices always available as well as a cooked breakfast with plenty of choice, and always served with a knowing smile which clearly understands that breakfast may be the highlight of any golfer's day.
And of course Jackie and Norman work to ensure your needs and wants for the day are met by themselves or one of their service providers like the laundry service that picks up one day and drops off the next.
Superb. Fore out of Four.

Room Tip: Investigate the options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review in relation to your recent trip to St Andrews & Five Pilmour Place. Delighted to hear that your group enjoyed our facilities & our proximity to all amenities. Look forward to welcoming you back should you arrange another trip from Australia to St Andrews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a wonderful B&B in a great location, within easy walking distance to everything in the town of St.Andrews. I agree with the comment that it is really more like a boutique hotel -- the furnishings are very contemporary and attractive. The rooms are comfortable and spotlessly clean. We had the room in the back, off the pretty little garden, and it has a spacious bathroom that is drop-dead gorgeous. The breakfasts we generous and delicious. The owners and staff are warm and friendly --they can't do enough for you to make you feel welcome. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your review it is very much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your trip. Hope to meet you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Five Pilmour is a charming place with a delicious breakfast and the most welcoming hosts anyone could ever hope. Jackie and Norman were kind and looked after every detail of our stay. I can only say good things about this beautiful and charming place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that we are part of your best memories of your trip to Scotland & St Andrews. We hope that we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I can only endorse the positive reports of others. Spent two nights in this well appointed centrally located accommodation. After a friendly welcome we were allocated the Garden Room which was immaculate. The Tunnocks teacakes and fudge which were part of the Tea/ Coffee package in the room were a nice touch. The breakfast menu was extensive - with even the option of fruit loaf. There is no onsite parking, but we had no difficulty in finding nearby alternatives. If we return to St Andrews there is no doubt this would be our first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found our facilities to your satisfaction and hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlemaine, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here for four nights as part of a golfing holiday. It is a beautiful B&B with helpful and gracious hosts.Our room was very large, clean and comfortable with a modern bathroom. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, cereals, a la carte hot dishes, toast, jams etc. The Old Course is just around the corner as is the beach and aquarium. All the interesting sights are within easy walking distance and there are good pub and restaurant meals close by. I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us & hope that you may return in the future to enjoy our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Pilmour Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.