We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be great as St Andrew's Bay, not now it's Fairmont!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont St Andrews

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont St Andrews to your Saves list
Fairmont St Andrews
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ayrshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to be great as St Andrew's Bay, not now it's Fairmont!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

My family have stayed at this hotel for years, but since it became Fairmont, it has certainly gone downhill. Not 5* any more. We booked to stay there in April for 4 nights (although left after 2). The room was small, with a small double, which was astonishing for a hotel like this, so very uncomfortable. The food in the Squire was awful at night and we weren't the only ones who complained that night. We had been told the buffet was on but it wasn't. My daughter's meal was cold and hard and as it was a child buffet, it had been sitting around for ages, so was awful. I had a "steak", which was expensive but turned out to be shoulder steak, so was tough and cold. The waitress told us what the type of steak was and the reason it had to be cooked pink, was because it was shoulder. Awful. We left and ate out in St. Andrew's. The breakfast was good though. The pool too busy and changing rooms too small. Not a five star hotel any more and we will not be returning. What a waste of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    492
    262
    78
    49
See reviews for
345
894
14
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This is a great hotel in every way.

Concierges - So helpful

Reception - Ditto

Spa - Ditto, my wife had a great time, but pricey.

Rooms - Very nice, clean, roomy, lovely bathroom (tiled floor - heated!) Big LCD TV, our room was a 'low end' one on 3rd floor facing front of hotel, but still fab.

Golf - Phenomenal links course, amazing views. £58 per round inc 3 taylor made balls.

Food - Very good, highly recommend. Esparante is v expensive. Breakfast was excellent, large selection buffet,

Tip !! - Join Fairmonts loyalty club called The Presidents Club, it's gets you plenty benefits for free - join online !!

There are loads of v reasonable 'deals' right now, don't miss out. Oh, and St Andrews is a beautiful town too.

All in all - Perfect Getaway !!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Fairmont Hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is very charming and is in a lovely location. I am a person who loves to get a good night’s sleep and this hotel definitely helped with this as it is very quiet. The staff could not have been more helpful (especially changing a flat tire for me on the rented car - thanks). The bars are very relaxing with a great choice and the food was gorgeous. The rooms are very spacious with a king size bed and a big bathroom (with heated floor). The swimming pool is also very nice and well heated. The staff was exceptional and very welcoming and friendly. I would definitely recommend the hotel with no worries around cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We had a moderate room and although the room itself was fine, there was no view at all. Take note if you book a moderate room - ours overlooked the glass roof of the atrium - we couldn't believe it - very depressing. Considering it is a 5 star hotel we felt that with a moderate room at least you should get some kind of an outside view not just a roof top !!

As other people have said - far too many children in the restaurant and pool, and the atrium is totally wasted space. They don't serve drinks there except between midday and 4 p.m. Also none of the public spaces overlooked the gorgeous view to the sea - what is the point of putting a room in that location to have none of the bars, dining room, spa etc overlooking the view !

The lovely place to eat was the club house restaurant - great views and nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

I would have to say, that this is the best hotel that I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

The staff throughout the hotel are wonderful - nothing is too much bother for them. The rooms are first class and immaculately clean.

We had fabulous food in the hotel restaurant - again the service could not be faulted.

This hotel is wonderful for a short break/holiday in a wonderful Scottish setting!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Easily the best hotel in the area. Much better service than the Old Course Hotel. Very similar amenities and experince that American travellers are used to, but with a Scottish flavor. Pool area is great for kids.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

stayed here for the weekend with large family group. Rooms were to a good standard and very clean. Public areas too were good and I was pleased that the children in our party were made to feel very welcome.
Had dinner here two nights and would not particuarly recommend it. Dinner was served in the Squire restaurant in the large Atrium which I thought was really lacking in atmosphere and reminded me of a large shopping centre. Food on the first evening was slow but the waiter could not have been more helpful or attentive (thanks Robert). Second night we had the buffet which was obviously better and again service was first class and really made the evening (thanks Daniel!). We had some snacks when we arrived but found these very overpriced (£9 for a poor bruchetta).
Third evening we took advantage of the courtesy bus to St Andrews and ate out at one of the many restaurants there. Would recommend and there are plenty of restaurants to choose from.

Another few positives were -

breakfasts, superb choice and standard. Definately worth the wait

games room. A big hit with the kids who appreciated all the games which were brand new.

Courtesy bus.

spa and pool area also good but not very clean during our visit. Sauna/steam rooms were disappointing.

Overall enjoyed our stay. The staff here are absolutely superb and nothing appears to be too much bother for them. Would definately come back but would choose to eat out in many of the lovely restaurants in St Andrews.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont St Andrews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.