We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5 star!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont St Andrews

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont St Andrews to your Saves list
Fairmont St Andrews
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not 5 star!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed for one night for dinner bed and breakfast. Room was lovely- very spacious. Leisure facilities appeared good- although only used the pool, sauna and steam; which were all on the small side for a hotel this big.

Hotel had a cavernous feel; all our meals served in 'Squires' restaurant' which was basically a lobby, and felt as if sitting in a shopping centre-not what was expecting for a 5 star. General meal choices appeared good, if you're not a vegetarian.

Veggie starters- tomato soup, or salad- very uninspiring. Veggie choices for dinner included the usual risotto, and vegetable tart. This was basically some roasted veg, on a puff pastry base- with no sauce. Completely tasteless and not filling. Accompanying it were two dry breadsticks! Non veg choices also tiny portions- with no accompanying veg. Needless to say, we both felt very hungry after. Furthermore, no bread was offered before which I would have expected for a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice- although vegetarians not well catered for- only usual scrambled egg, hash browns, beans. Would have expected veggie sausages etc for a supposedly 5 star hotel.

Overall, I would say this is a 4 star hotel- it is very misleading to market it as 5 star. It is definitely not worth the rates- felt very disappointed by it as was expecting a bit of luxury for what we paid. Definitely would not go back- and would not recommend to any friends or family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us however it was very disheartening to read that you did not enjoy your stay. I appreciate your feedback and I can advise that we are in the process of making enhancements to our Vegetarian offereing . It would be my pleasure to speak further with you about this. Please contact me directly at the hotel as I would like to have further insight from you regarding our enhancements and what we can do further. We pride ourselves on a high level of service and our goal is to ensure our guests satisfaction.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    894
    492
    262
    78
    49
See reviews for
345
894
14
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Have been to this hotel a couple of times for our works annual conference.
The facilities are first class.
Plenty of meeting areas and a massive conference area.
We also had a Ball in the evening which was a terrific event. The food was excellent and the entertainment superb.
My room at the hotel was beautiful. Very spacious with a massive bathroom.
Didnt get a chance to try out the leisure facilities but would definatley come here for a break with my husband. and would recommend to friends and family aswell.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us at Fairmont St. Andrews. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will ensure it is shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a stunning hotel. The rooms are luxurious, great size and bathrooms huge! The rooms have great comfy beds, all the mod cons you would expect rom a classy hotel. Breakfast is buffett style, great selection and no hassell. The bar does a great burger and fries, recommended.
The pool is nice, didn't try the spa but looked good.
This is a golfing hotel so ideal if that is your thing. If you want to visit St Andrews it is a good few miles into the centre. If you want relaxation and luxury this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

A great hotel located in a great place, just 6 miles away from the town and surrounded by an splendid golf camp view! This is the kiind of hotels that you are looking for in this kind of trip and exactly what you pay for. You expect from a good hotel, an extremely cleanliness in the room, a good shower, a good bed to rest but most important thing an excellent service. The whole staff of the hotel have to make you feel that you are really "wellcome", everybody has to have a big smile in her face, stamped all the time. And all these I received in my recent short stay at this hotel. The kindness and warmth wellcome of the girl at the front desk made the whole difference!! specially when you travel for so many hours to get to St. Andrews from London.
My room was very spacious with a great view; the decoration was in a classic and elegant style. The badroom was clean and with good lightening, but very basic amenities (all the hotels have started to safe in the amenities in the rooms).
I didn't enjoy the breakfast served as buffet. They took years to bring coffee at the table and THAT is a basic in service, all the rest can last for ever but never the coffee.
The day I arrived I headed to the town, they offered me the shuttle, and coming back I took a taxi. St. Andrews is a beautiful little town with wonderful views, This is the town where the golf was started, the shopping is wonderful and I arrived the day of a Parade so I enjoyed the Airpipes, a good bear, and of course a good scotch! Food was ok, I didn't try the huggies that everybody told me to, I don't eat that kind of food.
The next day, I visited again the castle in ruins, the museum, and I had a very good time in St. Andrews and I am sure The Fairmont has a lot to do with it. i will definetely reccomend this hotel to anyone making a tour to Scotland, You can't miss it!

Room Tip: Very important the view to the golf court and the end the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Going to Scotland and later to England was a trip of a life time for my husband and I. We had the opportunity to join our daughter, son in law and 2 beautiful children at the Fairmont for 5 days. The men were very fortunate to golf on the Old Course and the family had a picnic on the course on Sunday, while the little ones, mini putted. Everyone that we had the opportunity to meet on this journey were exceptional. The service was amazing and the rooms were everything anyone would ever dream of. I cannot say enough about the service from the hotel and staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms face the course and the others the gardens. Either way are a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Fairmont St. Andrews. In addition, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We look forward to one day welcoming you back again.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont St Andrews for 4 nights in an executive suite. Whilst this may not be the prettiest hotel it is certainly an impressive one and the location on the cliffs a few miles from St Andrews is simply stunning. (when the sun is shining!)
Over the days we ate in the Club Restaurant twice and had excellent meals on both occassions and had a more casual meal in the Kittocks Bar on another evening. We didn't eat in the fine dining restaurant as one of our party felt the menu was too restrictive and the Squires restaurant in the gianat atrium didn't appeal simply we felt that it was like being in a fish bowl. Breakfast on all days was very good with the omeletes cooked to order a pleasant change.
The executive suites were very spacious and generall well equipped although one of the two (1001) did not have any bath robes throughout the stay and for the rate paid we expected to get complimentary water in the evening which only happened on one night for some reason. The lack of quality bathroom doors in 1001 (they are best described as cheap plywood sliding doors) was the only real quality issue in the suite. The other suite (1103) had much nicer louvered doors to the bathroom..
High speed internet access - a pet hate of mine is hotels which charge for this service and here it was £18 for 24 hours!
Most of our compliments must got to the F&B service staff who were excellent whenever we came into contact with them. Especially Leni (so friendly and helpful) in Kittocks and the staff in the Club house where we enjoyed many a pint. The golf courses are a superb test for both low and high handicaps and the spa treatments (enjoyed by the ladies) were given a big thumbs up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with views towards the bay and the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Just back from a 3-night stay at the Fairmont Hotel in St Andrews. Our room was excellent, the meals were delicious (and not too expensive for a 5* hotel) and the hotel's facilities were all you could wish for - especially the Spa.
There's plenty to do in and around St Andrews, even when the sun doesn't shine.
The weather was mixed during our stay but we still had a very enjoyable mini-break.
If you're a National Trust member, there are 4 excellent propertities to see in the area.

Room Tip: don't book room only - book your breakfast too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont St Andrews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.