We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy, cold day golfing with the girls.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links

The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links
St. Andrews Links Trust | Pilmour House, St. Andrews, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 28 Activities in St. Andrews
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Windy, cold day golfing with the girls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was cold, howling a gale and rain was threatening. I would have been quite happy drinking tea and eating scones in the fabulous clubhouse rather than golfing. The staff were very impressive and far more welcoming than most of the fuddy duddy clubhouses in Scotland. Obviously set up for Americans. The wee bag with strokesaver, tees and a pencil was much appreciated and all quite good value for £50 we paid. Then we had to leave the warmth and tranquility and play golf. The course was quite tight and the greens very slick and punishing. Even if you hit the fairways there are big lumps of raised rough right in the middle. Punishing. It has been a long time since I have putted off the green. Rumour has it that they may make the greens easier???? The views are wonderful and the sun came out and you would never know it was windy from my photos!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    13
    10
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Cant put wont put”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Whoever designed the course didn't give enough time to laying out a putting surface which was fair. It could only be described as crazy golf. The club house, the staff and my caddie were world class but the greens were stupid.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great new course, same great game”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The newest of the St Andrews courses, and one which will mature in due course. A great challenge awaits those who venture out. While being a man made course, it integrates classic links feeling into the rolling land to create a great test. Combined with stunning views towards St Andrews town, the 6th hole in particular, this course will provide a challenge to all standard of players. Raised on a small cliff, when the wind picks up will provide as sterna test for anyone. Particular mention to the 17th hole....170 yard carry over the ravine while looking towards the town provides a sight to behold. Make sure to relax in the clubhouse after, built into the land with sweeping views of the North Sea.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fore!! or did I take a five?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you want to experience golf as played in the good old days, then visit The Castle Course. It looks as if it has been their since the dawn of time. A very clever construction involving whins and dunes makes it a tough but not impossible day of golf.

Oh but then there is the wind! We played on a day when even the gulls were hiding. Huge, rolling breakers pounded the coast and the spray was needle-sharp. It really lets you know what is wrong with your swing!

The clubhouse faces the coast with exceptional views of St Andrews and the Fife Coast - if you can see it that is! An undestated, friendly atmosphere which does not overwhelm you is order of the day. Very friendly staff greet you and this continues throughout your visit. Some so-called superior golf clubs could take a lesson in humility and customer-service from the Castle.

Loved the day, loved the food, laughed at the conditions.

Play it and sample a great old-fashioned course with fantastic views and cleverely constructed sight lines.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Links Style Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My son & I had the luxury of golfing the Castle Course, it is an amazing layout and the scenery along the North Sea was beautiful. The course was a definite bonus, we actually experienced some of the UK wind conditions during our round. We now know how humbling playing in those conditions can be. We were enjoying the fact it was our first time playing golf over in Scotland, the birth place of Golf, and we enjoyed every hole that windy day. It was purely spectacular, the entire experience of links style golf, the sand traps, the rough, (fescue). I'd play there again if I go back for another holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links also viewed

 

Been to The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.