We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Albany Hotel to your Saves list
Albany Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 North St, St. Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Good Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring St Andrews on foot.
Our room was very clean & the bathroom was very large with a nice selection of Scottish toiletries and large bath towels.
There was a good selection of dishes for breakfast which is buffet style for cereals & juice etc whilst the hot selections are cooked to order.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope you will return to The Albany Hotel on your next trip to St Andrews. I will pass your comments on the the rest of the staff.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    61
    30
    11
    11
See reviews for
33
50
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night on a cold wet July day. The staff were excellent and very helpful. The bedroom and Ensuite though very small was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast was well presented with a good selection of food.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. As the hotel was built in 1795, the room sizes vary but we do try to ensure that everyone is happy with their rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and I will pass your comments on to the rest of the staff.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel for a golf stay - however the service at this place stood out. Firstly I messed up the booking and got the wrong weekend! I realised in advance and rung the hotel - they contacted other potential guests in order to accomodate me by changing things around. The staff were continually friendly, helpful and volunteered ways to assist - I stay in a fair few big chain hotels and they could really learn from this place. The hotel is not luxurious but was good value - I had to cut short my stay although my room mate stayed on and they charged single occupancy for that night when they could have insisted on full. Top marks, very refreshing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff so helpful. It's good to know we have contributed to your enjoyment of your trip.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night. The room we were given was very small, and right next to the stairwell, which was very noisy. The shower was terrible, and when we complained about it, the staff didn't seem interested. It is in a good location, and the breakfast was nice, however we were quite disappointed overall.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you found your stay not up to your expectations. We do take all guest comments seriously but were unaware of any recent problems with the shower facilities in the bedrooms. Any maintenance issues are dealt with promptly by the hotel. By trying to narrow down the location of your room to the stairs I find that it was one of our smaller double bedded rooms that you would have reserved .
These room types are offered at a lower rate than other double bedded rooms to reflect the smaller size of accommodation.
Your comments are appreciated and welcomed and we hope you will consider staying again at the Albany Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for an evening and was very impressed. The location is excellent for those looking for a reasonably priced place to stay while golfing or touring St. Andrews. The rooms was small, but comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful - they even provided a welcoming email once I had booked my stay, and were very click to reply to my questions regarding travel from the bus station to the hotel. The front desk accommodated an early morning breakfast (6am) which was outside of the normal breakfast hours so that I could have a quick bite to eat before a long round of golf. All in all I was very impressed with the attention to client service and ensuring my stay was comfortable and convenient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your time here, and hope to welcome you back to The Albany on your next golfing trip to St Andrews. I will pass your lovely comments on to the rest of the staff.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a basic bed and breakfast hotel. However for a short functional stay in St. Andrews this is quite adequate. Breakfast and service excellent.

Room Tip: go for rear and high
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Celia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We visited St Andrews for a wedding and The Albany was ideally situated, close to the church. I have to use crutches/wheelchair so my mobility is quite restricted. My husband explained on the phone and requested a ground floor room. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly and gave us a ground floor room which was perfect in every way. Unfortunately she omitted to mention that the breakfast room is in the basement, down a steep staircase. There are also steps up to the front door so The Albany is not ideal for disabled guests. We had looked briefly at the website and saw that it had a restaurant and bar. This was excellent as we didn't want to have to go out to dinner as walking is impossible for me and restaurants are usually cramped so wheelchair access is difficult. On arival we asked what time dinner to be told "we only serve breakfast...but there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance". A little insensetive as I was on crutches and we had told them I could only walk very short distances! Surely the website should not state that there is a RESTUARANT when they only serve breakfast and snacks in the bar at lunchtime...very misleading. We met some friends in the bar and ordered a Gin and Tonic and Whiskey and dry ginger. They didn't have Gin or dry ginger! The following day we had a sandwich in the bar which stated. 'served with crisps' they had run out of crisps! For a reasonably stocked bar these three things are surley basic requirements. It's not as if we had asked for something unusual. We were also woken before seven in the morning when the night porter handed over to the day staff.
On the plus side the room was comfortable and very well appointed. The breakfast was very good and the staff polite and friendly.......... but not always on the ball. These hotel could so easily be rated excellent it is a shame that for us it fell short. Expesive for what is little more than a B&B.





On the plus side...the breakfast was very good and the room comfortable and well appointed.

Room Tip: ground floor room excellent with it's own terrace. Very bright, comfortable and well appointed w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I hope your torn ligament is better and that you are off the crutches now.

On enquiry, your husband explained that you had mobility problems but said that you would be fine on stairs up to one floor and that the injury was not grave. As there are only 9 steps down to the breakfast room and 4 up to the front of the building, my receptionist did not think that this would be an issue, given that he also indicated that you would prefer a room above the ground floor.

You are correct in stating that The Albany Hotel is not accessible to mobility impaired guests. The house was built in 1795 and is B listed so we are restricted in many changes we would like to make for ease of access. given that my own daughter is permanently in a wheelchair.

We are sorry that you found the comment about walking distance insensitive, but my colleague was not made aware that your walking difficulties were so severe. There are 42 restaurants here, all within 3 minutes of our door. Our reception staff are trained in helping our guests to decide on a suitable dining location. In fact we did arrange a restaurant for you, one minute from the hotel.

Unfortunately, your visit coincided with a large party, who had eaten us out of crisps and gin just moments before you came into the bar and we had not had a moment to replenish our stocks.

Our old website is a bit vague. We are currently in the middle of a rework. The new website is much clearer as to the services we offer. At The Albany Townhouse Hotel (the only hotel in St Andrews so far to be awarded this title by Visit Scotland) we endeavour to satisfy all our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 56 North St, St. Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.