We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have to have picture taken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swilcan Burn Bridge

Swilcan Burn Bridge
The Old Course at St. Andrews Links, St. Andrews, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in St. Andrews
Type: Bridges, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Have to have picture taken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went over the Swilken Birdge as part of my round @ St. Andrews! the 18th is the easiest hole on the course.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    21
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The most famouse little bridge in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This bridge although small is huge in the world of golf and must run BigBen close for the amount of photo shoots that it stars in, it is perfectly maintained in its famouse surroundings and there is a constant stream of people having there visit recorded in one way or another....yes me too, it's an icon of huge proportion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Swilken Bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although not as big as I imagined or seen on TV, it is still a breath taking structure when you realize you have seen so many great golfers trek across that bridge. A great photo opportunity especially with the Royal & Ancient Clubhouse in the background.
Be sure to give your "Jack Nicklaus" farewell wave.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A moment that will last a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have to admit that approaching the Swilcan Bridge I suddenly felt very moved by the history it represents and also by how unassuming it is. It is wide open to anyone and everyone. Stepping onto the Bridge is to share something with so many of the greats who have inspired us and, at least for me, was an unexpected reminder of the greatness every golfer feels, however rare, when we hit those most incredible of shots that keep us coming back. It’s a generous reminder that all of us, from Hall of Famers to hackers, have a stake in what makes golf so special. Even if you are not playing a round on The Old Course you can walk right onto the Swilcan Bridge in between golfers or, even better, go on Sunday, when the course is closed to play and open to the public for walking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Every Golfers dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

You have to go, if your a golfer. We went in the evening with the sun setting and it was just beautiful. The club house in the back round made great pictures. The bridge is between the 17th and 18th holes, so watch for golfers. The course is open on Sunday for walking all the holes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swilcan Burn Bridge also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Swilcan Burn Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swilcan Burn Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.