We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A moment that will last a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swilken Burn Bridge

Swilken Burn Bridge
The Old Course at St. Andrews Links, St. Andrews, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 attractions in St. Andrews
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Bridges
Attraction Details
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A moment that will last a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have to admit that approaching the Swilcan Bridge I suddenly felt very moved by the history it represents and also by how unassuming it is. It is wide open to anyone and everyone. Stepping onto the Bridge is to share something with so many of the greats who have inspired us and, at least for me, was an unexpected reminder of the greatness every golfer feels, however rare, when we hit those most incredible of shots that keep us coming back. It’s a generous reminder that all of us, from Hall of Famers to hackers, have a stake in what makes golf so special. Even if you are not playing a round on The Old Course you can walk right onto the Swilcan Bridge in between golfers or, even better, go on Sunday, when the course is closed to play and open to the public for walking.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    16
    1
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Every Golfers dream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

You have to go, if your a golfer. We went in the evening with the sun setting and it was just beautiful. The club house in the back round made great pictures. The bridge is between the 17th and 18th holes, so watch for golfers. The course is open on Sunday for walking all the holes.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Swilken Photo Op”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very strange to just walk around on a golf course to take pictures, but it was fun to get photographed at the bridge we've seen so many amazing golfers walk across!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apex, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Wow , how impressive to see for the 1st time when you come about. I have seen it in pictures time after time, but beeing there is just awesome . it makes a great souvenir pictures, knowing all the great golfers that I have crossed that bridge.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Part of the history of Old Course...not to be missed and if you can get there on a Sunday when the course is closed you can take a photograph on the bridge.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swilken Burn Bridge also viewed

 

Been to Swilken Burn Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swilken Burn Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Swilken Burn Bridge to your Saves list