We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you play the Old Course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If you play the Old Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

If you plan on playing the "Old Course" at St. Andrews you can't beat staying at Old Course Hotel, everything was exceptional. The staff could not have been more courteous or helpful. Location spectacular right on the Course. The Pro Shop staff was outstanding. The Road Hole Bar is a must if you like scotch. This every bit a five star stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    125
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
121
426
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

My husband had a trip to Scotland to play golf, staying at the Old Course Hotel, and playing the Old Course, truly memorable. The hotel exceeded all expectations, with excellent accommodation ( stayed in a Eden Suite ) and excellent service to match. The staff were very professional and courteous and made you feel very welcome. The full Scottish breakfast served in the Road Hole Restaurant each morning was more than you could expect and would satisfy most people for the rest of the day ! Plus, looking out over the Old Course as the sun came up was something to remember. If you want to be pampered then the spa is the place for a relaxing massage after golf. If you want to enjoy all that golfing at the "Home of Golf" has to offer then staying at the Old Course Hotel would be hard to beat

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a fabulous treat for my Mum's birthday. Prosecco on arrival, with a wonderful course & sea view from our room. Pleasant & helpful check in, with a courtesy call to inform us of our room being ready.
All staff very warm and welcoming. Bar staff were very knowledgable and skilled. I recommend the St Magdalene single malt 1975, you will have to be quick as they are on their last bottle. Might try the Linlithgow on our next stay.
Our room was well situated for access to the spa. We felt comfortable to go down the stairs in our robes & slippers. Treatment & facilities added to our relaxation. My mum particularly loved the steam room. My Mum also braved the plunge pool. I just put my feet in as on a previous visit I took the plunge.
I am still full 8 hours later from breakfast. It certainly set us up for the day. Mum thoroughly enjoyed the smoked haddock & poached egg. The fruit was tasty & fresh.
Mum wants to know when will we be back... Soon hopefully.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely sanwiches with delicate flavours but a tad too much read - thinner sliced would be better. Tasty scones and pancake with cream and strawberry jam and then the cakes! A nice mixture - all very light and a good variety of flavours. Good selection of teas and coffees. Very attentive staff. Afternoon Tea was in the Sands Grill which I found a tad lacking in atmosphere. Probably great in winter but on a lovely summer day it would have been nice looking over the beach or gardens - especially in their location. Very good value for money at £20 but Gleneagles still gets 5 stars even if it is £30! All in all well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Old Course Hotel and we are already planning our next trip. From the moment we arrived we knew this was going to be a trip to remember. The staff was incredible, each and every member was so friendly and helpful, they could not do enough for us. Special mention to the bar supervisor in the Road Hole Bar, so efficient and went above and beyond to ensure that every guests needs were met. I drank a particular cocktail each night and on our our last night he gave me the recipe and explained the process to me. The rooms were amazing, we had an Old Course Suite overlooking the 17th hole of the golf course and looking out onto the sea. My husband played golf on 3 of the 4 days but i never felt bored....i visited the spa on 2 occasions and had amazing treatments but you could also just use the facilities which were part of the package. The hotel is 5 star and it most definitely deserves this rating. Our stay was flawless. The hotel however still manages to remain relaxed, and homely. I cannot wait to return to again in the near future. Keep up the great great work and treasure your amazing staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Attended a pair of friend's wedding here and was in awe of the attention they give to their guests. The room was immaculate and bed was comfortable and large. The bar next door, The Jigger Inn, was also incredibly welcoming and service all round was of a high standard. My partner and myself enjoyed every moment of the stay and would willing stay there again without a question.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Fabulous two day stay. Treated so well by all members of staff, whether in reception or dining room or in bar. Loved the bedroom> could have stayed there for the full two days.
Bathroom - heaven. Food was delicious and particularly enjoyed breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline.Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife.With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.