We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for golfers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Paradise for golfers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great hotel, very spacious rooms and bathrooms, one of the best golf courses views, and what can you say about the Old St. Andrews course. Very good restaurant and great service. Must visit the Old historic Jigger Inn, great selections of Scotch, a must! I have stayed here four times and I look forward for the next time, for me is a compliment for a great golf venture with my friends, the staff makes you feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    137
    55
    17
    10
See reviews for
138
496
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Nice stop on our tour of Scotland. After three full days of sight seeing in Edinburgh, (and a stay a EQ2 ~ not very luxurious) it was nice to take along hot shower in something bigger than a small phone booth. The views to course provided fun people watching. However, we all agreed that the service was somewhat inattentive, taking 20 minutes to get a glass of wine. We also agreed that the room service food was below average. It was also extremely extremely disappointing that the Kohler spa would not accommodate a mother-daughter service because she was a "health" risk since she was not yet 16. Funny thing is, I've experienced snobby service from Kohler's American Club also. St. Andrews was a fun stop, but The Old Course Hotel was not 5 star in our book. Next stop Trump International.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Amazing fairway suites with opening floor to ceiling doors overlooking The Old Course, historic Jigger Inn, great Road Hole Bar with hundreds of Scotch selections and great golf course views, friendly staff, welcome drink and one of the best water spa's you will ever find with coed sauna and steam rooms, cold plunge pool, hot pool and lap pool. If you can't play, walk The Old Course on Sunday or after hours to get an appreciation of why this course is so difficult.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fairway view. Fairway suites are truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A super 5 star experience! From the moment we arrived and were given a glass of champagne, we were well looked after. The rooms were lovely and spacious, with a nice view. I've marked the room down just very slightly because they were very hot and I couldn't get the room cooled down and because i didnt like the monsoon shower with pulsating hand held thing. We were staying as part of a wedding - the meal was outstanding, one of the best wedding meals I've ever had. And the view from the bar on the fourth floor was out of this world. We will definitely be going back again and definitely worth the money for the stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you took location alone, you must stay at this hotel; but the hotel itself is an absolutely fantastic experience and service is perfect. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by a Scotsman in kilt and coat, you just feel that this is going to be a wonderful experience. The rooms are spacious and have every known amenity. The fourth floor has great restaurants, bars and a view to die for. There is also a wonderful pub with outdoor seating overlooking the famous 17th hole. I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. Don't consider staying elsewhere in St Andrews. This hotel is worth every pence and an experience in its own right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My 2 friends and myself had lunch yesterday in the Road Hole Restaurant. Wonderful. !
We had the best view in town and the bonus was the the Ladies Open was on
The service was second to none All young waiters who couldn't do enough for us "Old Dears". The food was delicious and very reasonable We'll be back Can't wait

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoyed many things about our stay. The rooms have everything you need and an array of pillows. The bed was very comfortable. It was great to sit in the hot tub for a few minutes and relax. The breakfast was delicious and the view is terrific. We had very nice exchanges with all the Scots who work there. The Americans who work there are not as friendly and that was disappointing. We had some trouble getting our dinner served in a timely manner (at least an hour late). All in all we are happy to have stayed there because of the location and the history associated with the Old Course.

Room Tip: We liked our rooms on the south end of the building looking towards Swilken Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline.Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife.With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LHW, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.