We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Very positive experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife booked this hotel with a voucher special offer and it gave us the chance to sample one of the best hotels in the country at a rate which was manageable. A good idea from the Hotel as it would have been otherwise deserted in mid winter with most of the clientele all on similar voucher offers. The hotel was everything you hoped it would be and more. Very special welcome with a glass of Prosecco at Reception and escorted to the magnificant bedrooms. We dined in the Jigger Inn next door but part of the hotel and had the best burger ever. Breakfast was a wondrous experience with breathtaking views over the 1st/18th fairways of the Old Course. A truly special place. Just one downside......when talking to the concierge he did make a point of stating that since the hotel commenced with their special voucher offers, he had noticed a distinct change in the standard of clientele!!! Not exactly what one wants to hear and a little short sighted to my mind! However that slight aside, it was an excellent experience and one which I will repeat....despite what the concierge thinks!!"

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the Spa and rooftop jacuzzi! Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    124
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
121
425
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here one night, you know its 5 star as the customer service is 5 star !! We checked in to a lovely large room with a small balcony, robes slippers, water etc and a sumptious pile of pillows on the bed that are soo comfortable! 2 glasses of complimentary fizz as well! We ate dinner in sands grill which was very good and resonably priced although my starter was a bit on the small side! Wine was also very decent!

Breakfast was brilliant the choice and quality of food was outstanding!

The only small thing i would add is that why not do proper coffee in the room it makes such a difference!!

I hope we can have another night here and this time will def visit the spa!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

From the moment we arrived the whole experience at the Old Course hotel was amazing.

We were greeted on arrival by a lovely concierge who welcomed us, our bags were taken straight to our room by him. Our rooms weren't quite ready on check in, however a glass o fizz was offered while we waited which was a lovely touch. Once the rooms were ready we wee taken up by a friendly receptionist, Ann-Ruth I think was her name.

The room was lovely, a good size and very clean. We expletives the roof top jacuzzi and all the spa facilities which wee all amazing, the staff in the spa were friendly and helpful.

Breakfast in the road hole restaurant both mornings was fast and efficient with a great selection of continental and a la carte. Dinner both nights in the sands grill delivered excellent food and service!

Will certainly be back, was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday night and had a really nice stay in an Old Course View Room (112). The room itself was very nice and we had a fantastic view over the golf course. However, the heating in the room was up full blast and the room was not even warm. It didn't help that the wind kept whistling through a gap in the windows! This did wake me up a few times during the night and the curtains don't have black out linings so we were both woken up at half past seven with the light coming through.
Apart from that I must admit that the service was absolutely first class, we felt very spoilt from the minute we checked in (Callum did a great job, he was very professional and offered us a glass of fizz) until we left (Callum did the honours again!).
We had dinner in the Sands Grill which was a lovely restaurant but I must admit the quality of the food was pretty mediocre. We went to the Road Hole Bar for a couple of after dinner drinks and the wind was whistling through the windows there as well. We did not feel warm and cosy once during our stay and the weather was not even particularly bad.
St Andrews is a very special place and the view from the Old Course Hotel is unique. I love this hotel but will visit in the summer next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Another wonderful stay at the luxurious Old Course Resort and Spa. Stayed here a few times now and it never disappoints. Superb evening dinner in the Sands Restaurant. Spacious room with very large bath and shower. Superb professional service in all areas. Finished off our stay in the Spa which is excellent. Can't wait to go back.*****

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Booked this as a treat for my husband. The service was top notch from start to finish. Lovely room with huge shower and very deep jacuzzi bath. Unfortunately the Road Hole restaurant was closed on the night we visited but we had a lovely meal in the Sands restaurant. St Andrews is a lovely little town. The staff really make this hotel world class. Breakfast was very good with lots of choices. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Return visits are interesting in that they allow you to assess things on the basis of your first visit.I wondered if any changes would have been made and was pleasantly surprised that none had been.Pre-arrival e-mails checking all arrangements were in order ensured that check-in was smooth and efficient.Once again the welcome glass of fizz was a nice touch and just what was needed after a round of golf in the morning.Room again had impeccable decor and the extremely comfortable beds ensured a good nights sleep.We had dinner in The Road Hole Restaurant this time and the service and food was first class and good value.The concierge service transported us to and from golf on the Dukes course and made for a relaxing day's golf.My thanks again to all staff for another pleasurable visit.And to Mr Pereira,the welcome card was also anice touch,your attention to fine details is much appreciated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline.Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife.With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.