We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

Had a wonderful arrival and staff went out of their way to help during our stay. Room was excellent overlooking the course. Afternoon Tea in the library was lovely especially sitting in front of the fire. Restaurant on the top floor was closed for refurbishment so we had dinner in our room.
After the weekend we were fully refreshed and would advise this hotel to anyone.
The hotel is ugly on the outside but that is the only downside. Bonuses include the health club, the deep baths, the peacefulness and the variety of places to eat. A nice breakfast was included in the price.

  • Liked — Staff and room
  • Disliked — Outside of the building
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    125
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
121
426
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2008

Been to this hotel a few times, and even although we stay only 15 miles away, we feel that we could be miles away and leave feeling pampered and refreshed.

We stayed for Valentines 2008 in a Fairways Suite, and the room was top class. A huge lounge and dining area - very spacious with balcony overlooking the sea - and a small kitchen and guest toilet off the room.

Big double doors took us into a large bedroom with small balconette. The bathroom was huge with bath, separate shower and double basins. The room really was outstanding.

The spa has been renovated since we last visited and it is wonderful. The pool is still medium-sized but there is now a thermal suite and even a rooftop hot-tub. The treatment rooms are all modernised as well, to wonderful effect.

Unfortunately the main restaurant The Roadhole Grill was closed for refurb, so we had our Valentines meal in Sands, which was superb and although intimate doesnt have the same ambience as The Roadhole Grill.
I really couldnt recommend this hotel more, and easily beats The Fairmont for style and experience.

  • Liked — The space and view
  • Disliked — Nothing - loved everything!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

Could not have had a more fantastic time at the Old Course Hotel. The staff were so friendly and kind and, having had a minor problem with the room I booked, immediately upgraded me to a fantastic suite, overlooking the 17th hole and beach. They really made me feel special and this was much appreciated as I was by myself and visiting for the first (but not last) time. The pro shop staff were excellent and I have nothing but good things to say about the beautiful hotel, restaurant, staff and experience. Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Beautiful decor. Old world but great style and elegance
  • Disliked — The Price !!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augsburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2007

I stayed at this fabulous property over Christmas and had a great experience. What sets this property apart from the vast majority out there are the service level and genuine hospitality you will receive. Fantastic restaurants, a world class spa with rooftop jacuzzi and views to die for. We will be back!

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for a work related conference. From the moment we arrived this hotel was top class. My colleague had only just parked her car and the door man was out to take our bags. Throughout our stay the service was friendly, effecient and first class. I had an excellent room overlooking the golf course and beach with a sitting area and bar plus even a WC for any visitors to the room. The bathroom was huge with a jacuzzi bath and wet room. As part of the conference we had lunch and dinner in the hotel as part of an organised package. Usually at these things the food is nothing great. Not so with the Old Course! Lunch was a very well presented buffet comprising a couple of hot dishes and salad items. Dinner was a very nice 3 course meal comprising fancy prawn cocktail, lamb and a trio of chocolate desserts. The only drawback with a place like this is the price of booze. My friend bought a round of 3 drinks and it cost her £23. We made use of the spa too. It was £20 per room to use the spa (£10 if you are in a single room). There is a pleasant 20 metre pool, hydrotherapy pools, steam room and sauna as well as the piece de resistance - a hot tub on the roof. I really enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Liked — fantastic sea view
  • Disliked — price of drinks in the bars
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

I didn't turn up here expecting that much, I had always thought a large carbunculous hotel in such a beautiful historic spot aimed primarily at golfers would be awful. While it's improved considerably in appearance this used to be a complete eyesore when I visited St Andrews as a child.

But I couldn't have been more wrong. The service was excellent, genuinely welcoming and our room (230 - a suite looking over the 18th hole and the beach) was delightful and very comfortable. We didn't eat a la carte as we were at a conference but the standard of food was considerably higher than you would expect at that type of event and the service was excellent. This was also true of the breakfast. While it has the same scale and facilities as a large urban 5-star hotel, it doesn't feel like one.

There is an additional charge for the spa facilities but it's well worth it as they are excellent - sitting in a rooftop hot tub on a freezing November night was an excellent way to chill out, the pool is large enough for proper swimming and the gym has a range of high-quality equipment and I wish I had had the guts to use the plunge pool!

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st andrews
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

Rubbish hotel - have they forgotten the words customer and service? not wotrth 3 stars never mind 5. Extremely dissapointed in everything cant even dust the place! Must be struggling with costs etc because experience was awful. When you provide awful service you get a half empty hotel and this place was half empty at the weekend- tells a big story! keep away.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline.Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife.With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LHW, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.