We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 5 star experience at the Kohler Spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
West Lothian
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A 5 star experience at the Kohler Spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

From the moment we arrived and had our car parked by the friendly and courteous member of staff until we left in the evening, this was a 5 star experience My friend and I had booked the H20 experience. On arrival at the Spa the registration and tour of the Spa was all effortlessly carried out. The Spa area is beautifully laid out with dark woods, lovely magaazines, water and fruit in most of the areas. The robes were lovely. The treatments we had were excellent. Shelley my therapist was very good ensuring my treatment was just how i wanted it, ensuring the music was not too loud/soft etc. I loved the H20 water experience and especially the lovely relaxing bath afterwards. We were asked to come back to the reception area at a certain time and as we came through the door, our lunch and champagne was just being served. The lunch was faultless and the service of the staff excellent. The Thermal suite was very nicely done, again with lovely lighting etc. relaxing by the pool on the sunbeds was very calming with a waterfall at one end and lots of light flooding in. NOTHING was too much trouble from any of the staff and this is the best spa I've been to. we will definitely return. the newly refurbished quiet area was beautiful, with beautiful soft furnishings to match. My only complaint was that the roof top spa was closed for repair. I would not have come on this day had I known because we could easily have rebooked and I do feel that this matter should have been brought to my attend a couple of days beforehand. This had been booked over 6 months ago and was a big disappointment to us. Other than that everything was PERFECT. 10\10 from me. Just wish we could have stayed overnight.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCourseHotel, Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 22, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments, I am delighted that you did enjoy your day at Kohler Waters Spa. I am very sorry that you were not notified of the roof top hot tub closure however I am grateful that you have brought this to my attention, I will ensure that we do not repeat this mistake.

Warm Regards
Victoria MacLeod
Spa Manager, Kohler Waters Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    125
    48
    15
    8
See reviews for
121
427
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

On arrival we were welcomed most pleasantly by the receptionist with a glass of champagne followed by a tour of our room which was a standard Eden room. It was well furnished and had an extremely comfortable bed. The bathroom was somewhat spoiled by the very deep bath which was quite difficult to get in and out of, whether bathing or showering. We found the food in the Sands Grill, Road Hole Restaurant and the Jigger Inn to be of a high standard served by attentive and very courteous staff. A faulty bulb in our bedroom was reported and, unbelievably, replaced withing ten minutes - most impressive! The location is outstanding - overlooking the famous Road Hole on St Andrews Old Course. Overall a very pleasant stay and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

Just back from hen night in the old golf course!! We had a fabulous time staff couldn't do enough for us!! Many thanks to Charlie, Tom and Laura!!! Food great, rooms beautiful, gorgeous location!!Worth every penny!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

good points great bed,great location,pleasant staff
bad points ,very small bathroom very high bath ""if your under 5.4" room ,very hot ,took 2 days to cool down had to sleep with the fan on all night,
,food ok, nothing special very slow service for breakfast and only 1/2 dozen tables in use,
hotel was very quiet ,not surprised!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, we always aim to exceed our guests’ expectations and therefore it is disappointing to hear that we did not on this occasion. We will work on resolving these issues in our continuous bid to improve our service.

with kind regards
Daniel Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

This was my 2nd visit to the Old Course hotel and I have noticed alot of differences on my 2nd visit. The first impression of the hotel is very nice with a quick yet efficient check in. The young girl at reception showed us to our room and gave a very good explanation of the lay out and how to work the small things like our shower as it was actually complicated! She was very friendly. UNFORTUNATELY after this is when the five star service stopped.

We dined in the Sands grill and from the moment we walked in the door a member of the management made us feel very unwelcome as he gave the impress that giving his staff instructions was more important than us. They would of been better telling us what they did have on the menu because they told us at the beginning there was not a number of steaks and different appetisers on the menu. The restaurant had no atmosphere at all and the staff were also talking in the own language at the side and made us feel as if we were invisible at some points. The restaurant for breakfast was also very slow and dull and it was very quiet. We asked the girl if it is usually this quiet and she told us it has been one of the quietest years so far! NO WONDER!!

This is a huge disappointment as when we visited in Summer 2009 the staff, hotel and restaurants were fantastic.


Different management?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
I am so very sorry to read your comments, I do understand that this level of service is very disappointing. I have sent a direct message to you as I would like to discuss these issues with you.

Daniel Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

The old course was a lovely experience. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and it was no problem that we arrived earlier than the stated check in. Two things I found slightly annoying, one was that our door rang at 9am on Sunday morning and the lady wanted to check our mini bar, surely this can be done later??

Breakfast was lovely but the dining room was full when we arrived and whilst the ante room was lovely (tea and coffee provided) I have not had to wait very often at a 5star hotel. The service seemed slightly chaotic, ie the waiter who served us out tea and coffee could not organise toast and then it was another waiter who would take the main order.
Overall great experience but did not expect even the smallest of blips given the price and rating. One more thing, room service pizza hardly edible. Don't order that!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2011
I am sorry that you did experience these issues, this is certainly not the type of service we aim to provide. I have taken note of your comments and will make sure these issues do not reoccur. If you would like to discuss any of these issues further please do email me – daniel.pereira@oldcoursehotel.co.uk

With kind regards Daniel Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Stayed here for one night while on a trip to St Andrews. We booked a standard room but were delighted to be given a free upgrade to one of the substantially more expensive suites. This was huge with a seating area, very large comfy bed, balcony, two tvs, two bathrooms and very plush decor. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath, power shower and lots of lovely bath products.
Unfortunately the padded walls didnt mask the noise from a party going on until the wee hours so we were kept awake.
The breakfast was plentiful and waiting staff were attentive - don't expect to do anything for yourself.
Definitely worth visiting the spa, very relaxing and not overly formal.
The best thing about our stay was the view from the room right over the golf course and to the water beyond, absolutely stunning.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline.Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife.With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LHW, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.