We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Du Vin

Save Saved
You added Hotel Du Vin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Du Vin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland (Formerly St. Andrews Golf Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 19 hotels in St. Andrews
PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great stay at Hotel Du Vin. The rooms are recently redone in hip fashion. Bathrooms are a bit small but the most is made of the available space. The property is right up the street from The Old Course and also sits on the edge of University of St. Andrews. Our room happened to overlook the North Sea which was awesome.
Great service and restaurant as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    21
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Yarmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very helpful friendly staff! The rooms were a wee bit small but the staff made you quickly forget that. The meals were the best we had in our stay and Suzzane, Collin , Chris and Paul were always near to make our every wish their command. Local tips flowed. We were made to feel like friends and they quickly became ours. Don't know how the service could have been better!

Room Tip: If you're golfing or walking about this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-June and loved it. The hotel was recently renovated and it is beautiful. Great location right on the ocean and next to the old course. The standard rooms are really small but nicely decorated, with a large sleigh bed, which takes up a lot of space. Difficult to navigate the room. There is a large, modern bathroom, which has a rain showerhead. The room windows actually open. I believe many rooms have an ocean view. Our view was of a little courtyard and trees, which I enjoyed. The breakfast is amazing; better than any hotel breakfast I've had. If you are from the US, watch out for the black pudding; I don't recommend it (blood pudding)! Staff very friendly and helpful, cute bar and outdoor patio. Well located, especially if you are planning on golfing. St. Andrews University is a couple of blocks down the street.

My only complaint, and its a big one, is that the rooms are VERY HOT. It happened to be unusually warm weather in Scotland during our stay and the room have no air-conditioning and remained very hot. We kept our room door open and the window open in order to cool the room down (obviously not when we were sleeping!).

Room Tip: The rooms are very hot and the standard rooms are very small, with a large sleigh bed. If you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the time with us at Hotel du Vin, St Andrews - the whole team work ever so hard being able to provide the great levels of service that are expected - and always seem to do so with a smile.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon
Kind regards,
Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a newly modernised hotel in the Scores St Andrews.
The new décor is tastefully done with black wooden floors to most rooms and public areas. Our suite on the first floor overlooked St Andrews bay and aquarium must have the best room in the hotel. The suite was very large with high ceilings and modern en suite bathroom with a slip free slate tile shower floor. A huge flat TV screen was welcome as the room is so large.
All the staff were super friendly and helpful.
The outdoor bar at the rear of the hotel was a nice touch as was the sun-room bar.
Food at both breakfast and dinner was only adequate and not worthy of such a fine hotel. There are plenty of alternative dining venues in the vicinity.
The access when we stayed was not suitable for disabled guests as there is a flight of steps to get to the front door (the disabled access has not been completed and the car park for disabled guests at the rear of the hotel is nowhere near finished)

Room Tip: Try for a room/suite overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel du Vin acquired this hotel which was previously the St Andrews Golf Hotel and has, as expected, dressed it in its own style and is expanding with an extension to the rear. My wife and I stayed here as part of an extended holiday coupling it with our son's graduation in the town. We have stayed in HDV hotels previously and always enjoyed our stay and this was no different.

Our room, Glenrothes has a majestic view over the St Andrews West Sands, you could sit there and drink it in all day. The rooms are well appointed and the shower fantastic although it does allow water to flow onto the bathroom floor. The hotel has been open about 1 month and already one handle was coming off the wall in the bath room which should be easily fixed.

Staff are very friendly and Paul the Porter cannot do enough to help you, he genuinely enjoys his job and making life easy for guests, commendable.

We ate in the Bistro where the food was good but medium rare was more medium to well done however everything else was as you would expect at HDV.

The bar was modern and welcoming with a fine array of whisky to tempt you (well it is Scotland). The hotel has opened up some decking outside which is where you notice the extension work going on and I am certain that this will be wonderful when all the work is complete.

I also sample a couple of beers in Ma Bells, (aka Pub du Vin). I was a bit disappointed here I have to say. The drinks selection is fine but no lower alcohol lager than 5%. The gents could certainly use some cleaner in the drains, the aroma being most un-hotel like. Don't get me wrong, the place is pleasant enough but if you've been in pub du vin in Brighton you would understand the difference.

The one thing that I must comment on is the bed which envelopes you in the cosiest mattress topper and duvet that I have experienced. A formula for an excellent night's sleep catalysed by a dram of the aforementioned whisky. II woke refreshed ready to take all that the Carnoustie Golf Links could throw at me!

Overall a very pleasant stay and I would go back, I give it a very good as there is room for improvement. Ignore the rating for swimming pool and fitness centre below as there isn't either at the hotel.

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your lovely feedback, I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed the time with us at Hotel du Vin, St Andrews - the whole team work ever so hard being able to provide the great levels of service that are expected - and always seem to do so with a smile.
I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon
Kind regards,
Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel staff went out of their way to make sure all our needs were met. We arrived after the kitchen had closed but the chef still agreed to prepare dinner for us. We also had to leave early for the airport and had not checked on when breakfast was served. We came down an hour before they opened. Again they were willing to prepare our breakfast even though they were not open. The hotel is a small hotel and definitely tries to make their guest comfortable. The rooms are very nice but are on the small size. They have plenty of storage in the rooms. There is a special storage area for golf clubs. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The ocean view gave some amazing early morning and evening views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the hotel for one night and included breakfast in our package. Our room was on the 3rd floor and was quite small, in fact the bed just about filled the entire room. Firstly the plus points - it was very clean with a great bathroom and shower and nice toiletries however the mattress was really too soft and we both had sore backs by morning. Perhaps we are just used to a firmer mattress. The room was really hot even though we managed to open the window wide. We made a cup of tea from the facilities provided however there was no milk so we couldn't drink it. Perhaps the simple things need more attention than the extras like the rather expensive mini bar. Breakfast was very nice but we would have preferred a hot buffet as we waited a while to order our hot food. All in all a nice looking hotel and very clean but a slight disappointment.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Vin

Address: 40 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland (Formerly St. Andrews Golf Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#8 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Vin 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel Du Vin St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.