We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a magnificent gem of a find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Andrews Botanic Gardens

St Andrews Botanic Gardens
Cannongate, St. Andrews, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in St. Andrews
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a magnificent gem of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Living in Edinburgh, and being a great fan of the Edinburgh Botanics, along with being a fan of day trips and the occasional weekend escape to St Andrews, I cannot believe I did not know about the St Andrews Botanical Gardens before now! What a wonderful discovery! We arrived bright and early on Sunday morning, and it felt as though we had the gardens to ourselves. The many gardens, within the gardens were breathtakingly beautiful. The rock gardens, the herbaceous borders, the pond and little waterfalls, the amazing tress and spectacular rhododendrons were a real delight! The grounds were magnificent and the glass houses and herb garden were an added bonus! We were sorry to hear that the gardens are now under threat.... Scotland should be proud to have such a speculator display, and I would hate to see it become a commercial enterprise. It was just a most magnificent day out. I cannot wait to return! The £2 entry fee must be one of the UK's best bargains!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    23
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Must go back soon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The gardens were a wonderful experience, even in the pouring rain. We were made most welcome and given umbrellas to use on our very wet stroll through beautifully kept gardens. Unfortunately the rain got heavier, so we didn't manage to see all we wanted to, but the glass houses made up for our disappointment. I loved the time I spent there and will be returning in the near future, when the heavens aren't coming down. The gardens are under threat of closure, which seems unbelievable, so I hope that it will get all the support it deserves and win the battle.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, Scotland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a fascinating garden, well worth the small detour from the town centre. There is a terrific alpine garden leading down to a beautiful lily pond, lots of grassed areas, a herb garden, lovely herbaceous borders, really good glasshouses, but my favourite part is the woodland, which is just lovely. Lots of very interesting plants well labelled.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Often referred to as a hidden gem in St Andrews as it is a bit out of the way. In addition to beautiful gardens and glass houses, there is a very popular, state of the art, education and events programme. The staff and volunteers make great efforts to welcome visitors. The Gardens need the support of visitors if it is to carry on its great work. Please visit and contribute.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cairngorms, Scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delightful, informative and varied garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

These gardens have all the plant information specialists would look for as well as being an attractive walk through various environments - woodland, rock garden, herb garden, borders etc and extensive greenhouses featuring global climates. There's been a lot of effort to keep younger folk interested too and entrance prices are very reasonable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Andrews Botanic Gardens also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to St Andrews Botanic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Andrews Botanic Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.