We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel was really good value for money with friendly and helpful staff in a great location.

The breakfast choice was really good.

The rooms where spacious with all the amenities you could wish for.

The views from the room where spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    135
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
85
131
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This Hotel is a dream, even if your not a golfer the veiws from the front of the hotel are Fantastic.

You go to sleep listening to the sea and wake up to the veiw of a lifetime, If you need to relax this is the veiw for you.

The hotel is in excellent condition, modern areas but with many of the original features, the atmosphere was fantastic, the food in the restaurant was as good as any Michelin star restaurant along with first class service, this also continued at breakfast with a vast choice of excellent food.

My room, I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a Junior suit, A dream of a room, Superking sized bed, seperate kitchen, bathroom with bath and Shower cubicle and to top it of a work space you could actually work in as an office.

Room Tip: 222 junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was my first trip to play golf at St. Andrews, and the staff of Scores was excellent. Every aspect of my stay at the hotel was well handled by a pleasent and helpful staff. There dedication to customer service and satisfaction was outstanding and added another positive element to my trip.

Room Tip: For a great view of the R&A Clubhouse the the Bay ask for a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

spent 10 days at the scores while golfing in the st andrews area. this is a great place, recently renovated, comfortable with good restaurants. rate are the best i've found for like properties and the staff is outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for one night only. Hotel is a little tired looking inside, but the location and views are superb. My room was extremely comfortable with loads of space and a big, comfortable bed and the breakfast selection was great. Staff were all very friendly and helpful and I felt very welcome. Good for the price as St. Andrews is not a cheap place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_12_12, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for staying in April. Great to know you had a spacious room, if only here for 1 night and you also found the breakfast selection really good too. The Reception area is next for refurbishment and we have been concentrating in upgrading all bedrooms and indeed adding 6 lovely new Junior Suites. We have also landscaped the gardens and replaced all the bedroom windows ( apart from 4 to be done soon ) as well as new beds, flat screen TV's and upgraded free WIFI. Still much to do and we hope to welcome you back soon Eric Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Location is perfect. Walk out the door and you can see the beautiful Scottish coastline. Turn left and you see The Old Course. Literally steps away from the Old Course, Hole #1 and located in downtown St. Andrews. Breakfast (which we purchased with the room) was very good and filling. I loved the ham! The view from their restaurant is amazing. The staff were extremely friendly (but I found this to be true for every person I ran into in Scotland) and attentive. The price of the hotel is a bargain considering it's location and the cost of the other hotels nearby. The rooms are cozy and clean and the bathroom was huge! First time I've run into that while in Europe. Hot water all the time and they do have a lift. I'm already planning on staying here for my next trip back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

our first trip to play the Old Course was made perfect with a lovely stay at Scores .Staff were the nicest you could ask for.Like home from home.All services were excellent.With a hundred yard walk to the first tee on the Old Course I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Address: 76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.