We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another lovely stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Another lovely visit to see my student daughter. We received a warm welcome and as always the rooms were comfortable, warm (which was appreciated in this cold weather) & spotless. The shower was piping hot & the right side of powerful. The towels were thick & a of a good quality. The dinner we had in the restaurant after 7 hours of driving was magnificent. Pam looked after us like we were royalty. Thank you so much - you really went out of your way to make us feel at home.The breakfast was excellent and the service so friendly. Every member of staff I met made a real effort to make our stay even better than the last one. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. Scissors & a sewing kit were found in record time so we could repair a torn sleeve and extra tea bags & milk were supplied upon request. I shall be staying here again

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - all rooms are lovely but the sea view ones are extra special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    125
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
82
126
35
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently enjoyed an overnight stay with some friends at the Scores, St Andrews. Our rooms were furnished to the highest standard, comfortable and spotless (with, of course, fabulous views along the West Sands).

All staff we met were helpful and friendly.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am a St Andrews alumnus who returned to the UK to visit his beloved campus and patronise some favourite local establishments with a friend from nearby.

Note: I booked a junior suite.

The room is kept in a style I'd call a "traditional guestroom." This may seem antiquated and behind the times to someone used to modern business hotels with a profusion of polished metal and a dearth of usable electrical outlets, but the "at home" feeling can't be beat. While I don't normally stay at 3* properties, I always find myself making an exception for the boutique-feel Best Westerns that one can find tucked around Europe. The staff are always excellent and friendly, while the properties themselves offer old world charm for a relatively modest price. In this case, this property is a converted Victorian school.

Onto the important details, the rooms are spotlessly clean, the wifi is free, and the bathroom is delightfully spacious. If you're coming up from the cramped and expensive rooms of London, this will be a breath of fresh air. There's ample room to sit back and take in the view, curl up with a book etc. Remarkably, the armchairs are comfortable and suitable for sitting!

If I had to fault the room for anything, I don't remember there being a minibar. However, I didn't look too hard, and this is not a major issue, so I can't see subtracting a star. If you wanted anything, it's just a matter of nipping down to the bar where one of the lovely staff will fetch anything you want to have downstairs or bring back to the room.

I didn't patronise the restaurants, because as a combination university and resort town, St Andrews is chock full of eateries ranging from dirt-cheap to fine dining. Also, lots and lots of pubs. ;)

Room Tip: If you can, go for a junior suite. The views over West Sands are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This hotel is ideally located across from the ocean and the golf course. They provide a lovely breakfast buffet and the staff (thank you Ben!) worked very hard to accommodate every need. The dinner we had was also wonderful and while the rooms were a touch dated, they were clean and comfortable. The hotel has a small bar which is very cozy and ALL the staff will go out of their way to help (thank you Phil!). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_12_12, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to do a review. We really do appreciate it and I regret that we do not always manage to keep up with responses. You mentioned Phil and Ben as particular members so the team ( Phil is our Senior Manager but very hands on! ) and you loved the location, the lovely breakfast Buffet and the wonderful dinner! While you felt the rooms are "dated", we have 6 brand new and lovely Junior Suites, just finished in June 2012. We have upgraded the TV's to flat screen ( 42" in Junior suites ) and we have new beds and a touch of "Scottishness" with tartan throws and cushions to match, we recognise that further work is still needed especailly in the bathrooms and Reception. We look forward to welcoming you back. Eric Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spectacular view, outstanding and friendly staff, perfect location overlooking West Beach at Saint Andrews. Stayed on two separate weekends separated by two weeks, equal and outstanding experiences in both instances. Couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the beach, if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed here to attend a work event. The staff are polite and courteous. My room was on the second floor and had a gorgeous view of the sea and sands. My room was clean and warm, plenty of instant hot water for a bath etc. An utterly charming hotel and I would be happy to recommend it to people to stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if available.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in St Andrews at The Scores hotel which was quite quiet as it was the start of the year. We stayed in a suite and had an enjoyable time. Food was decent with a reasonable choice for breakfast. The restaurant basically served decent bar food.

The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. We'd happily recommend this hotel for anyone thinking of visiting St Andrews.

Room Tip: If you can get a suite, then go for it, well worth the extra for space, although we were in the base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Address: 76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.