We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scores Hotel St Andrews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scores Hotel St Andrews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I had an extremely enjoyable stay in the Scores Hotel. Very comfortable and extremely friendly and helpful staff who were eager to give us anything we asked for. Rooms comfortable and clean. I will definitely be back.
Helen Forbes

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear HelenForbes,

Thank you for the review of your stay here in January 2012, I am very pleased to hear that you had a good time. Thank you for your business, it is much appreciated, we look forward to welcoming you back later this year!

Best wishes,
Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    135
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
85
131
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Friendly service, prompt throughout. Food great. Rooms comfortable and spacious. Bath and Shower clean. Look forward to renovations being completed however did not affect stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear EddieW,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your stay, I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much. Apologies for the renovation works on our building, which will be completed by June 2012, adding six new junior suites. The works to Hamilton hall (next door) are projected to be complete by the end of this year.
I have passed on your kind comments about the hotel food to the chef and restaurant team,
I look forward to welcoming you back soon and also to being able to show you the works that have been completed- thank you for your patience and understanding.

Kind Regards,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

have stayed several times in the past and enjoyed it - great location and good rooms. but we wont be returning until the refurbishment programme is completed. the bar is closed, there's no chance of a lie-in when the workmen start before 9am, and the shower is just awful.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear PaulCharles,

I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your visit this time, please accept my apologies.
The six junior suites that we are currently working on will be complete by June and all vestiges of building works will be cleared away as soon as possible. The building works next door at Hamilton hall should be complete by the end of the year, but I think the scaffolding will be away for the end of September. We have nearly completed a full replacement of all showers in the building and once this is done, the water pressure will be much better at the shower head.
I am sorry that our public bar (Chariots) is currently shut, it will however, be opening again at the end of this month. Unfortunately, the much lower levels of business over this winter have meant that it was simply uneconomic to operate in the core winter months (Nov-March) We did keep it fully open for the preceding two winters but decided against doing so again as it was very, very quiet. Unfortunately, I cannot trace your contact details from Trip Advisor, but when you are thinking of returning please call me and I will give you the best room I possibly can at that time!.

Thanks again for your report and apologies for the shortcomings with our hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back and (more importantly!), reinstating your confidence in us.

Kind Regards,

Philip Rolfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent a very enjoyable night here with the family (3 young children). We had a junior suite which was ideal for our family needs with beautiful views over the water. The room was spacious, clean, lovley large bathroom (only downside was there was no shower). Beds were very comfortable.
We had dinner in the restaurant which was lovely. Large varied menu, staff very friendly, food good. Had a lovely cooked breakfast this morning too.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, it has a great location and good value.

Room Tip: The junior suites were ideal for our family, worth spending a little extra on, even if travelling wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
"Beautiful hotel and town and fantastic food". Thanks for the very positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
We expect to finish our 6 new Junior suites by mid June...Eric Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful hotel and town. The service and the food was just fantastic. We will be staying once again - very soon!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the East (Chariots of Fire) Sands are glorious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear BernardandJoan86,

Thank you so much for your review, I was delighted to hear that you had a great time and even more so, to hear that you will be back soon, I look forward to welcoming you then!
I have passed on your lovely comments to all staff at the hotel, thank you for trusting us to look after you, it was a pleasure to do so!

With best wishes,

Philip Rolfe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Scores Hotel on a chilly weekend in February. We found the staff to be very welcoming and friendly, if in need of some extra training in some respects ("Would you like some ice in your Peroni, Sir?"). All areas of the hotel, including our bedroom, were clean and tidy. However, its last makeover was clearly many years ago and it is looking rather dated and in need of rejuvenation in some areas. On the other hand, we were delighted with our room (a junior suite to the front of the hotel) which comprised a huge room with exceptionally impressive views across the Eden Estuary, West Sands and the hills in the distance beyond. Initially we were very pleased that the huge windows didn't admit a breath of the freezing polar wind that was howling through St Andrews when we arrived. However, we were less impressed when the central heating was turned off at 9.30pm and the room became uncomfortably chilly over the next hour. It did come on again early the next morning though and quickly heated the room up again. While we would recommend the hotel on the basis of its good service, cleanliness, good quality food (both at dinner and breakfast) and excellent location close to the beach, golf courses and town centre, the situation relating to parking and access left us with some reservations. Even during the quieter month of February, we found parking anywhere near the hotel to be impossible. On enquiring, we discovered that there is a small car park to the rear. However, access from the car park to the hotel was challenging with luggage and baby in pram having to be moved through the hotel's rear garden, through a gate and down a public alleyway to the street and then along to the front entrance of the hotel. A longer route along the road would need to be taken by the disabled due to steps on the alleyway. This was followed by a game of hide and seek to find the lift. It may be that direct access to the rear of the hotel has been affected by construction works which were ongoing. However, there is a pressing need for better information and signage to/from the car park and improved access from the car park to the hotel. That whinge aside, The Scores is an attractive and friendly hotel which could be exceptional with some renovation and a little more attention to detail.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel have a fabulous view across the beach and sea, to the hills in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Methven, Eric Brown General Manager replying for Phil who normally writes. Thanks for taking so much time to write. Great to note the positives of clean tidy room, friendly and welcoming staff with good quality food and a great location
Sorry that the heating was not on 24/7 as it often is in the winter. Unseasonally warm winter weather confuses our timeclocks BUT our Duty Managers should revert to manual 24 hour heating if the temperature drops, as it does! We spent £80k replacing 90 % of the bedroom windows recently so that helps too
Parking is a challenge in St Andrews although we are the only hotel in this block ( 8 other hotels ) with any car park ( 12 to 16 spaces if we valet park ) BUT access is not easy. Better since we landscaped the rear gardens and knocked a wall down to allow access to Gillespie Wynd but still a bit like the "North West Passage!" We have plans to improve signage
Parking is also affected by workers from the major contract next door in Hamilton Hall
Regarding refurbishment, we have replaced all TV's in the last 2 years with Flat screens ( 42" in Junior Suites ), upgraded our free WIFI, replaced most beds and have new tartan throws and matching cushions. We have 8 Junior suites out of 30 rooms and are currently adding 6 NEW ones to make 14 in all. Public areas soon! We also have Planning Permission for 30 more Rooms and Suites which should be built by the next Open in 2015
May we please adopt your headline of " A good hotel that could be Exceptional" Be assured we are working on just that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Only stayed one night on business and the hotel was having a lot of work done so I was not seeing it at its best. Staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. My room was on the top floor so was had interesting lay out but was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The biggest fault I found was the shower (over bath) which at night struggled to be cool enough to stay under and in the morning certainly woke me up due to it changing temperature and flow as other demands were made on the water supply. This could well have been down to the works being carried out however. The full Scottish breakfast was superb. It is also worth taking the lift if only to hear the accent on the "lift going upwards" announcements:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipRolfe, Manager at BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear Jamie S,

Thank you very much for your review after your visit to the hotel earlier this month. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, but you are right that the hotel is not looking its best and I apologise for this. The work on our hotel (which is to make six new rooms and suites) will be complete by mid June this year and I believe that the work on Hamilton hall (next door to us) will be complete by the late autumn. We have been having work carried out to the hot water and heating system over the last few weeks to put in new pipes for the refurbished areas, so this may have caused the pressure/ temperature fluctuations, but we will be fully investigating this, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, it is great in our restaurant in the morning with the superb views! I am reliably informed by a German colleague that the lady that speaks to you in the lift has a strong Austrian accent, it does amuse people certainly!!

I hope to see you back here again soon and we will be sure to investigate the water temperature fluctuations,

With best wishes,

Philip Rolfe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel

Address: 76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse.A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre.The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the newly landscaped garden and terraces.Champions Grill has unforgettable views of the West Sands and the 1st tee of the Old Course from its 9 large picture windows - there is no better way to start your day!Alexanders Restaurant offer quality Scottish food in a traditional Victorian setting with white linen, gold chandeliers and a magnificent view.Chariots Bar, names after the film 'Chariots of Fire' (which was partially shot on the West Sands) is a typical Scottish Snug serving Bar and Snack Menus daily, with al fresco dining weather permitting! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St Andrews
Scores Hotel St Andrews
St. Andrews Best Western
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.