We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This B&B is very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairways of St Andrews

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairways of St Andrews
Save
You added Fairways of St Andrews to your Saves list
8A Golf Place, St. Andrews KY16 9JA, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This B&B is very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Besides a great location,and very nicely appointed rooms the personal attention from the owners was beyond expectations. This B&B is relatively new - and looks it. Everything is clean and neat. And the decor is really nice. Hugh is a golfer and can give plenty of insight into the local courses. Jane laid a really nice breakfast with plenty of choices. But beyond this Jane and Hugh really took a personal interest in us and wanted to be sure our stay is delightful. Would go out of my way to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
70
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just one night was enough to know that we will be back! Sorry Jane and Hugh - you will now be lumbered with the Edinburgh ones accompanied by friends, the next time.
We have an annual pilgrimage to St Andrews so finding a wee gem is a delight. The little touches mean a lot to us women - and a hairdryer that dries your hair - a new concept which should be repeated around the world.
Poor pillows is my bug bear but the Fairways were dreamy along with the bed. Location is fab and the friendliness of the Hosts made for a very relaxed breakfast experience. Home made soda bread - just delicious!
Only slight problem is that bringing back friends next year means we will be tossing a coin for room 3 - no hardship though as room 2 was just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian in London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in St Andrew's - we had the king room at the top of the house which was spacious and beautifully decorated and even had a view of the old course. Great location for walking to dinner, the shops, or the university/Abby.
My only small complaint is the breakfast room is tiny with your host cooking three feet from the table. Just a bit too intimate for our liking; however many people wouldn't bat an eye at it. Overall, it was a comfortable and very very clean B&B and our host was lovely to chat with.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We had a very comfortable 4 night stay in a beautifully furnished & well equipped room.
Fantastic choice for breakfast & the owners could not do enough for us and even went out of their way to help us.The visit made a business trip seem like a holiday. Many thanks for a most enjoyable stay. See you both next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Fairways in June 2012. Even before we arrived, we knew that this place was going to be special. From our conversation with Jane the owner on booking, it was clear that attention to detail and delighting their customers, was paramount. We appreciated the text message on the journey asking if we needed directions.
On meeting Jane and checking into this beautiful boutique bed and breakfast, we knew our first impressions we spot on. The decor is very tastefully and elegantly done. We stayed in Room 1 and it had everything we needed.
The location is superb, being literally 20yards from the 18th green of the Old Course, which you can see from one of the bedrooms.
The time you want breakfast can even be arranged with Jane the night before, by text. On arrival in the dining room Jane is waiting to greet you and cook your breafast to order. There is also cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, toast and fresh bread to choose from. We had an amazing stay at Fairways, it felt like we were staying with friends, as Jane and her husband are so very friendly and attentive to all your needs.
Not even home yet and have booked the Fairways for August.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowe City
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed two nights at the Fairways of St. Andrews. It is ideally located, close to the golf course as well as the university. I stayed in a clean, modern room that had an extremely comfortable bed with many pillows. I looked forward to returning to its coziness at the end of each day. Above all the hospitality displayed by Jane and Hugh, the wife and husband proprietors of the Fairways, was unparalleled.
A wonderful visit: I will not hesitate to seek out the Fairways for my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Just finished a week playing golf in Scotland, including a three night stay at Fairways of St. Andrews. The house is located only a half-block from the Old Course and withing walking distance of all the shops, pubs, and dining that St. Andrew's has to offer. Paul and Yvonne did a great job making us feel welcome and assisted us with the Old Course ballot procedure. Breakfast was great and the rooms very nice. The top floor room is large with a balcony that has a partial view of the courses. We spent some time in the Aberdeen area too and in comparison the convenience of Fairways made the St. Andrew's portion of our trip more enjoyable and less complicated when trying to figure out what to do after golf. Would recommend this for anyone!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairways of St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairways of St Andrews

Address: 8A Golf Place, St. Andrews KY16 9JA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 5 star boutique guest house at the famous old course in St Andrews, Scotland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fairways Of St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairways of St Andrews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.