We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Old Station to your Saves list
The Old Station
Stravithie Bridge, St. Andrews KY16 8LR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while daughter looking around St Andrews. It is a wonderful b&b and the hosts are very welcoming. Had a lovely room over looking the garden and my daughter loved watching the dogs play in the garden. A quick drive into St Andrews and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    18
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
54
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived here. This B&B, the site of a RR station closed in 1930, it's a little more than 3 miles out of town, which translates to about a six-minute drive from the St. Andrews golf course. The room was very nice; the only discomfort was having to shave in a lavatory set very low to accommodate wheelchairs, but it's nice to know that there is a B&B which can accommodate the handicapped. Fiona, our hostess, was wonderful, helpful, and bent over backwards to make our stay a delight. The grounds are fantastic owing to their location. Very quiet, no close neighbors. Even a putting green on the grounds. And two friendly dogs. Breakfast was ample and with very good fruits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we decided to make a last minute trip up to St.Andrews to play golf, a little disappointingly most of the hotels in central St.Andrews were full. We chose The Old Station, all I can say is thank goodness the others were full. What a great place and Colin really does make, he couldn't have been any more helpful.

We arrived late on the Sunday from Gleneagles, the Key were waiting for us. The next morning he book golf for us at Crail (a must play - both courses) and gave us tips on places to have a drink in the evening and also booked a table at a really good restaurant in town.

Rooms were clean and everything you'd expect. Took taxis into town which will cost you around £6.

All in all a great place to staty and should I be lucky enough to go back to St.Andrews in the future I will be staying no where else but here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night (should have been two but Colin sorted this brilliantly). We stayed in one of the carriage rooms which was just lovely. The decor perfectly complemented the carriage and had everything we needed and more. Had a great game of snooker in the guest lounge and also took advantage of the Wifi whilst there. Breakfast was great and set us up well for the day. Can't fault this place and wouldn't even begin to try!

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for the Women's British Open, there was 8 of us and the doggy. We had 2 rooms in the house and the 2 rooms in the railway carriage. The rooms were gorgeous, really nice decor and very clean, it was an excellent breakfast, the owner Colin gave us a lovely warm honest welcome and looked after us for the whole stay. Colin even looked after our old doggy while we spent the day at the golf and put our white wine in the fridge. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofiemyr, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and two sons; age 10 and 12 and we all truly enjoyed it. Just an 8 minute drive away from the town centre. Very peaceful and quiet and the garden even has a bunker so you can practice before playing the links of St. Andrews. The hostess Fiona is outstanding! Very friendly and helpful, with great advice for getting the most out of our stay in St. Andrews. My sons loved playing with her dogs; Zack and Cody and we all had a great time. We will definitely stay at the Old Station next time we visit St. Andrews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here with my 2 children and had a brilliant time. The garden has a golf hole complete with bunker and a football net plus table tennis which was great for the children.
The breakfast was really good and we all enjoyed watching the birds feed whilst eating. We saw awoodpecker and yellow hammers.
Really recommend this guest house.
Colin and Fiona thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station

Address: Stravithie Bridge, St. Andrews KY16 8LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Station St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.