We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full service premium small hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rufflets Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rufflets Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Rufflets Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Full service premium small hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We stayed at Rufflets for a long weekend of golfing in the St Andrews area. While outside St Andrews proper, it's very convenient to town and has abundant free parking close to the entry. Management can be very helpful with golfing and other arrangements; they seem to know the area and attractions thoroughly and are willing to go the extra mile in service. We were slightly annoyed with some noise from a evening wedding, but otherwise very quiet, especially room to room. Excellent food for breakfast and dinner. Pleasant gardens in which to relax. Generally mature couples; it seems very few children.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    118
    40
    4
    5
See reviews for
124
370
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

Excellent accommodation - we had large room with large ensuite and separate sitting area.Food in the restaurant at both dinner and breakfast was first class.Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Rufflets Country House is set in its our grounds surrounded by arable fields, its located approximately one mile from the outskirts of St Andrews.

I stayed in a normal double room, this was spacious and light, looking out over the front of the building. Lots of storage if you were staying for an extended time or playing golf, the tea making facilties also come with home make shortbread.

The bathroom was also large, complete with shower, bath, toiletries, flannels.

The hotel has a fine dining restaurant or more relaxed bar. I opted for the restaurant where the service couldnt be faulted. Breakfast was also excellent.

Pros
- Generally very quiet, no students, minor road noise from front facing rooms
- Excellent good
- Very clean
- Excellent service
- Lots of parking
- Free internet
- Large gardens
- Close to St Andrews

Cons
- Can be pricey, out of peak seaon, I recommend you phone with a target price in mind

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Lovely place, lovely spot, lovely gardens, lovely service, lovely food, good whisky range (albeit measures not the biggest); staff generally very well turned out and indeed attractive/friendly/ professional. Meeting room facilities excellent (and I heard others remark likewise), wireless good as well. Wish I had had time for golf

A couple of wee improvements:


Directions on the website are out of date

Room 34 has a cubby hole in the bathroom that opens and shuts in the night

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gildor, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2009
We do like to hear when our guests have enjoyed the hotel, but we also like to hear of some of the small but important things that we can fix and become even better.

So, thank you for your feedback - the small access door has now been seen to, and the directions have been changed (and road-tested by non-sat nav user) and they do work now!

Perhaps you can use them again, the next time you come to visit (and do the golf bit!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Our family of four (boys aged 12 and 13) spent two nights in a family suite that was just perfect for us: a main bedroom with an amazing view on the garden, a double for the boys and a spacious bathroom. The hotel is very well mainteined, the garden is beautiful and it is very convenient if you want to play golf in St Andrews. The food is quite good although a little too expensive

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south tyneside
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Rufflets and had a very relaxing break. Staff were very helpful and made us feel so welcome. The rooms were brilliant, very clean and well maintained. The short bread was absolutley gorgeous !! It was also on sale and made a lovely gift. The meals were excellent and very well presented with a varied choice.
The grounds and gardens were very pleasant. The location was a short drive from town and is a good base to visit some of the quaint harbours near by. We all had a lovely time and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

From the moment we drove down the beautiful driveway everything was just perfect. The hotel building itself and the carefully cultivated gardens are truly breathtaking. The room had a four poster bed and a bath big enough for two. Unadulterated luxury awaits you here. The meals, and we sampled breakfast lunch and dinner are of the finest quality and at dinner the B. Mary sorbet was delicious. My compliments to the chef and to all the staff who were magnificent and contributed to making this short break divine. Gentlemen do yourselves a favour and treat that special person in your life. You will not be disappointed I have not stayed in a better hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rufflets Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Country House Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes’ drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rufflets Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufflets Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.