We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very po$h great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rufflets Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rufflets Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rufflets Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in St. Andrews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Very very po$h great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for my wife’s graduation from ST ANDREWS, and although one night was as much a one month’s rent, it was worth it, we had one of the turret rooms (room 5) with 4 poster bed separate seating area and whirlpool bath. Fantastic made the weekend really special.
Food was really great and the atmosphere was relaxed staff helpful and friendly.
Would recommend as a great place to stay

Room Tip: room 5 the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I was so pleased to read that you had enjoyed the stay at Rufflets for what was a very special occasion - and thank you for the feedback.

We do know that there are some lower-priced options for accommodation in St Andrews, but it is good to see that the extra money spent was seen to be worth it.

And thank you for the kind comments on the staff - they do appreciate being able to read them.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    471
    105
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
110
342
11
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
renfrewshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This was our second visit to Rufflets Hotel. We stayed in the Kinness Lodge. The lodge has 4 bedrooms and 4 bathrooms. The lodge is immaculate and very relaxing. The lodge has everything you need. A large dining kitchen, all the utensils you need and hairdryers in the bedrooms. It is very homely. The grounds of the hotel are kept beautiful. It is only a 5 minute drive into the centre of St Andrews which is a lovely town and has lovely beaches. I would thoroughly recommend visiting Rufflets and renting the Kinness Lodge for a large family. It was fantastic and we will definitely return again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are all very pleased to be able to see how much you and the family enjoyed using the fabulous Kinness Lodge during your stay.

Kinness Lodge is a great choice for families when coming to the hotel - basically it is a four bedroomed house furnished to high quality standard - and situated in what is a truely tranquil spot.

Hopefully you will be able to return for a third visit in the near future.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked a two night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. Having seen photographs on here and on the website of the turret rooms I decided to pay extra as they looked lovely. Unfortunately I dont believe that we were allocated one these new decorated rooms. Room 5 was quite tired looking and although we had a nice whirlpool bath the corner shower was small and the bathroom was generally quite old fashioned looking. I had expected much more having seen pictures of the other turret room and we were both quite disappointed. On the plus side, the reception area and drawing room are welcoming and nicely decorated. You can tell that the downstairs has been refurbished - they could do with continuing this up the stairs and onto the first floor. The beds are very hard and there was something wrong with the heating so it was like sleeping in Sri Lanka not St Andrews! Also, the room had a mini bar price list and a fridge...but with nothing in it!! We very much enjoyed our meals on both evenings although the desserts on both nights were more like variation on a theme than brand new ideas each night. I have to say that the two maitres'd were very hospitable. I booked our stay by taking advantage of a 5pm deal - we feel that were were probably allocated the 'tired' room because of this. Our stay was enjoyable enough but we did not feel that it met the standard we were expecting. The cost of our 2 night stay had we booked it direct with the hotel would have been in excess of £700 and we would have been most disappointed had we been allocated that room at that price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We were also disappointed to read that we had not manage to live up to your expectations - and that you found Room 5 rather 'tired'. The other Turret Room was recently refurbished to a more contemporary style - and Room 5 is perhaps more 'traditional' but does appear to get some rave reviews.

I can assure you that you werent allocated this room because you were on a special deal though.

On the positive side, I was pleased to hear that you found the public areas up to scratch, and also that the staff were very good as well.

Hopefully you will be able to find time to visit us again in the future - and we can look to make sure that you can enjoy one of the contemporary rooms.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent a lovely two nights at Rufflets. A lovely room, excellent food and extremeky friendly attentive staff. Very comfortable lounge to relax on a cold day. Quality toiletries and delicious shortbread ...not to mention the cute little "do not disturb " bear! Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Will definitely return! Thanks to everyone for a lovely stay.n

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are alwats delighted to get such good feedback - and many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Working hard to create a great hotel, with a wonderful ambience, all backed up by a dedicated team is what we do, and it is good to see when it all pays off so well.

Do let me know when you are coming back so that I can thank you in person.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkhall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fantastic relaxing one night stay. Upgraded to a turret room and it was everything I could wish for.the bathroom was amazing lovely big bath and double shower...I love peace and quite and this I received, room 33 is a must if you book. Big thanks to rufflets

Room Tip: Room 33 total peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mandy

Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the stay - and Room 33 is one of our most popular rooms.

In fact this year we have carried out some refurbishment to that room (and others) - great bathroom, plus some really nice little extras and gadgets in the room as well.

Hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have had a lovely couple of nights at this very comfortable hotel. Nice and warm during this freezing cold weather with fires in the lounges and a hot water bottle in bed! The room was spacious and had plenty of drawers and a large wardrobe for clothes. The bathroom was also a good size and had a big bath and a walk in shower. Everything was nice and clean.

Dinner was excellent and my gluten free diet was catered for with no trouble. Breakfast was plentiful, a good Scottish breakfast sufficient to see you through the day.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant. Would we go back? Definitely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night in February 2013 and had a fantastic time - great hotel, lovely gardens, friendly staff.

The room was large and 5 stars - great little touches such as a teddy instead of a 'do not disturb' sign and top quality shortbread!

Thanks to all the staff for making it a great weekend and would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rufflets Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Country House Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Country House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes’ drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Rufflets Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufflets Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.