We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rufflets Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rufflets Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Rufflets Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Glasgow, Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked a two night stay to celebrate my husband's birthday. Having seen photographs on here and on the website of the turret rooms I decided to pay extra as they looked lovely. Unfortunately I dont believe that we were allocated one these new decorated rooms. Room 5 was quite tired looking and although we had a nice whirlpool bath the corner shower was small and the bathroom was generally quite old fashioned looking. I had expected much more having seen pictures of the other turret room and we were both quite disappointed. On the plus side, the reception area and drawing room are welcoming and nicely decorated. You can tell that the downstairs has been refurbished - they could do with continuing this up the stairs and onto the first floor. The beds are very hard and there was something wrong with the heating so it was like sleeping in Sri Lanka not St Andrews! Also, the room had a mini bar price list and a fridge...but with nothing in it!! We very much enjoyed our meals on both evenings although the desserts on both nights were more like variation on a theme than brand new ideas each night. I have to say that the two maitres'd were very hospitable. I booked our stay by taking advantage of a 5pm deal - we feel that were were probably allocated the 'tired' room because of this. Our stay was enjoyable enough but we did not feel that it met the standard we were expecting. The cost of our 2 night stay had we booked it direct with the hotel would have been in excess of £700 and we would have been most disappointed had we been allocated that room at that price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We were also disappointed to read that we had not manage to live up to your expectations - and that you found Room 5 rather 'tired'. The other Turret Room was recently refurbished to a more contemporary style - and Room 5 is perhaps more 'traditional' but does appear to get some rave reviews.

I can assure you that you werent allocated this room because you were on a special deal though.

On the positive side, I was pleased to hear that you found the public areas up to scratch, and also that the staff were very good as well.

Hopefully you will be able to find time to visit us again in the future - and we can look to make sure that you can enjoy one of the contemporary rooms.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    113
    39
    4
    5
See reviews for
121
356
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent a lovely two nights at Rufflets. A lovely room, excellent food and extremeky friendly attentive staff. Very comfortable lounge to relax on a cold day. Quality toiletries and delicious shortbread ...not to mention the cute little "do not disturb " bear! Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Will definitely return! Thanks to everyone for a lovely stay.n

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are alwats delighted to get such good feedback - and many thanks for taking the time to write this review.

Working hard to create a great hotel, with a wonderful ambience, all backed up by a dedicated team is what we do, and it is good to see when it all pays off so well.

Do let me know when you are coming back so that I can thank you in person.

With my best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larkhall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fantastic relaxing one night stay. Upgraded to a turret room and it was everything I could wish for.the bathroom was amazing lovely big bath and double shower...I love peace and quite and this I received, room 33 is a must if you book. Big thanks to rufflets

Room Tip: Room 33 total peace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Mandy

Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the stay - and Room 33 is one of our most popular rooms.

In fact this year we have carried out some refurbishment to that room (and others) - great bathroom, plus some really nice little extras and gadgets in the room as well.

Hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have had a lovely couple of nights at this very comfortable hotel. Nice and warm during this freezing cold weather with fires in the lounges and a hot water bottle in bed! The room was spacious and had plenty of drawers and a large wardrobe for clothes. The bathroom was also a good size and had a big bath and a walk in shower. Everything was nice and clean.

Dinner was excellent and my gluten free diet was catered for with no trouble. Breakfast was plentiful, a good Scottish breakfast sufficient to see you through the day.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant. Would we go back? Definitely!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for one night in February 2013 and had a fantastic time - great hotel, lovely gardens, friendly staff.

The room was large and 5 stars - great little touches such as a teddy instead of a 'do not disturb' sign and top quality shortbread!

Thanks to all the staff for making it a great weekend and would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

It's okay. Food is nice, room was okay. Nice 'do not disturb' sign. Kind service but a bit formal. Old stuff no elevator which is no problem because the bring suitcase up. Bed is hard but nice. Bathroom is okay with nice shower.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for the feedback - and I am perhaps a bit disappointed to read that we were only 'Okay' - but do appreciate the comments.

I am aware that you were supposed to be staying at another local hotel but they had out-booked you to Rufflets - and therefore you didn't get what you had originally expected.

However, we do look at all such feedback and will look to improve on the areas you have highlighted.

With my best regards,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of a coupon offer. The room we had was on the second floor overlooking the carpark. It was a lovely spacious, warm and comfortable room with a bath and shower (apparently all rooms don't have both). Some of paintwork needed freshened up and the grouting in the shower needs renewed. The only reason we mention is that if we had paid the full price for the room we would not have been happy with the standard of the bathroom. The meal was lovely and all the staff we met were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rufflets Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Country House Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes’ drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rufflets Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufflets Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.