We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rufflets Country House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Rufflets Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rufflets Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in St. Andrews
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really nice overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I took advantage of a coupon offer. The room we had was on the second floor overlooking the carpark. It was a lovely spacious, warm and comfortable room with a bath and shower (apparently all rooms don't have both). Some of paintwork needed freshened up and the grouting in the shower needs renewed. The only reason we mention is that if we had paid the full price for the room we would not have been happy with the standard of the bathroom. The meal was lovely and all the staff we met were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    465
    103
    36
    4
    5
See reviews for
108
339
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

fantastic country house for a wedding the house was outstanding and the staff were very pleasant and i will return there again very shortly .The rooms were very well kept and so clean very nice loved the weekend we were there for my nephews wedding well done Rufflets House

Room Tip: ant room will do . if you disabled the gate house if the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Not only are we a great country house hotel, but we also like to think that we are also a great wedding venue - and the separate Garden Suite allows us to be both!

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your nephew's wedding and we look forward to being able to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Stephen Owen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My mum and I stayed for 1 night on a chilly February weekend at Rufflets, and had a great time. We got a good value deal on booking.com for bed and breakfast, and decided to have a girls weekend. Rufflets is a short drive out of St Andrews, set in some nice countryside. The building is lovely and I can imagine the gardens are beautiful in summer (a little dark and cold to enjoy them in Feb!). After efficient and friendly service at reception, we were shown to a lovely spacious room, with an equally large bathroom (including jacuzzi bath and Molten Brown toiletries!). The home-made shortbread in the room is delicious. Very comfortable beds for a good nights sleep.

In the morning we had breakfast in a lovely room, and the choice of hot and cold food was very good (the cooked breakfast was particularly tastey).
All in all a great stay, and would definitely recommend Rufflets and return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My family and I spent a wonderful weekend celebrating my Birthday at Rufflets. Accommodation was excellent; rooms were well appointed; meals were very well presented and the quality of the food was exemplary. Service in the Dining Room was most courteous and the waitresses friendly and efficient. Housekeeping department was very efficient and rooms were spotlessly clean. All together, the Hotel staff could not have been more helpful in making our weekend a very pleasant and comfortable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had an overnight stay here with dinner and will most definitely be back. From the minute we stepped into the Hotel service was excellent from our welcome at Reception right down to the very friendly waiting staff both in the Restaurant and the Music Room Bar. Food was amazing and definitely Five Star quality. Room was very spacious and beautifully decorated with views over the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Room 37 was very spacious with a huge bathroom and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Myself and my husband got married at Rufflets last year and recently returned there to celebrate our first anniversary and as usual we were wowed with our stay.

The reception staff were fantastic on arrival and showed us to our room. The decor and furnishings were such high spec, I took pictures as inspiration for our own house! We had dinner in the restaurant and it was delightful, we especially loved the puddings! The atmosphere in the Terrace Restaurant is so relaxed and really peaceful. Like on our wedding day, we were blown away with how attentive all the team members are.

Breakfast was again delish (espec recommend cinnamon french toast!) and we chilled out in the lounge area with morning papers followed by a lovely walk around the gardens and reminiscing about our wedding.

We love absolutely everything about Rufflets and can't wait to visit again soon, if we could move in we would!

Room Tip: All rooms that I have seen are finished to such a high standard and all come with the most delicious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave your comments after your last stay at Rufflets - and we do find that we have a good number of guests returning to celebrate their wedding anniversaries at the hotel - some one year on, and even some 50 years on!

Especially pleased to read that you like what we have done to the decor in the hotel. We do have an annual programme of refrub work - and whilst we can't do it all at once, it does appear to be appreciated by most. Do let me know if you want the name of our interior designer - she is great and doesn't charge the earth.

And perhaps moving in isn't the best idea - but do keep us in mind for those special treats!

Best wishes,

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

waited a long time to visit this hotel and We were not disappointed. From the moment we checked in I felt so at home. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much bother. Our evening meal was wonderful top marks to the chef, portions were ample, and staff once again so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was spot on with a great variety to pick and choose from. Our room was comfortable, although one small point, we felt the bed was a bit on the hard side, perhaps we can ask for a different when we go back, which I hope will be sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I was pleased to see that the long-awaited stay at Rufflets lived up to all expectations, and that all the services that we provide were enjoyed, and especially good to hear that you found the staff so attentive (and they are very good and love to read comments such as these.

Hopefully you will be able to get back to the hotel sooner rather than later!

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rufflets Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Country House Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Country House Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes’ drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, T4B, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Rufflets Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufflets Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.