We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rufflets Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rufflets Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Rufflets Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pitscottie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

we come here quite often for lunch.The food and standards of service are excellent and very good value for money.On reading some of the more negative reviews I just do not understand some people or what on earth they are expecting ?? I think some people just like to complain !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    133
    41
    6
    5
See reviews for
132
426
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for one night only. Arrived slightly early to find our room already ready which was good as it was raining outside and we had run out of things to do in St Andrews. We had The Gilroy Suite. It was lovely as it overlooked the gardens. Unfortunately we didn't go for a walk in the gardens as the rain continued. The hotel has some lovely little features like the hot water bottle in your bed awaiting after your meal. We liked the wee teddy with the do not disturb sign on it to put outside your door. Also we had 2 TV's in the suite, plenty mags and books and a iPod docking station. All very handy on a wet day. We had the dinner bed and breakfast rate. We had some excellent wine and service but the food was lacking. We both enjoyed our starter of crab but not so much our lamb main course and the desserts were poor also. Breakfast consisted of both our scrambled eggs being split and I had smoked salmon with mine and my husband had the full Scottish. We didn't eat much of either. The assistant beverages manager was very jovial and made everybody she served in the restaurant feel relaxed and well served. The junior staff require to be a bit more confident rather than whisking plates to you and away again with no eye contact or chat. I suppose this will come with time. All in all we enjoyed our stay and have recommended it to others. It is obviously having a gradual face lift and it is a nice marriage of old and new. A bit too far to walk into town but then that's fine because its a country house hotel not a town hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited for our 10th anniversary having visited 11 years before. The booking process was friendly and efficient. I was able to order flowers for my wife with a personal message. Upon arrival, the flowers were in the room as promised. The room was spacious and very well presented with fantastic views. The food was excellent. All the above is great but the service is what makes you feel pampered. Everyone took their time with you and you felt that whatever you asked was not a problem. This is a lovely hotel and for a special occasion ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here in October for a weekend. we had spent many weekends in different places in St Andrews, but this was definitely the best. The room was excellent. We had two adjoining rooms, both spacious and comfortable. The decor was contemporary and really tasteful. We found the service second to none, especially the general manager who kept the staff on their toes. Food amazing, beautifully presented with locally sourced ingredients. There was basically nothing to fault with this hotel. We would return in a minute. Thank you Rufflets for the experience !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Pauline

So pleased to be able to read how much you enjoyed the stay at Rufflets.

We do all take great pride in what we do - and it does help so much to hear when it is all appreciated.

Hoping to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed on two occasions in the past couple of months, returning as we found the location just on the outskits of St Andrew's extremely peaceful, with very helpful staff, in a beautifully decorated Country House, with lovely terrace and gardens. Bathrooms of a very generous size, and recommend one of the top floor inexpensive bedrooms as they are extremely spacious. Great location for summer weddings with the south facing gardens and terrace. Also very handy for visiting students at the university, especially those living at David Russell apartments as only half a mile down the road. Will definitley use again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

bit old and tired not a suite in my eyes that we stayed in and not worth the money but it is a nice place and staff very helpfull bar cold and hard to mix due to room layout i think large party or function better suited to hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Stephen

I was sorry to hear that there had been some aspects to your stay that hadn't been as perfect as it should have been.

Your suite (both the big bedroom over-looking the orchard, and the sitting room) was refurbished last year, and we do have some plans to make some changes to the bar over the next few months or so.

However, I very much appreciate the feedback, and do contact me direct should you be planning to make another trip to St Andrews in the future.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Rufflets is a stunning Country house, we stayed here for two nights and were shocked while reading the 'history' of the hotel how recent some of the additions were as everything had an authentic feel. The building and the decor feels luxurious and well cared for. The hotel has a wonderfully relaxing feel to it, helped in part by the stunning gardens. Being 10 minutes away from the local town the hotel and surroundings are incredibly peaceful.
The staff are friendly, professional and efficient, they went out their way to assist a slightly stressed bride before her wedding day! The room was warm, comfortable, well decorated and immaculate. The room included all the standard amenities expected in a hotel such as this with the pleasant addition of a whirl-pool bath.
Everything from check-in to check-out was flawless. I would happily stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rufflets Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Country House Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes’ drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rufflets Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufflets Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.