We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rufflets Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rufflets Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Rufflets Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“World class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a night at Rufflets and we felt it was really important to come on here and express how impressed we were with this hotel.

It was my husband’s 50th birthday and we decided to get away for a night and so I booked a room through a last minute deal site. Unfortunately the site didn’t say that it was a twin room as opposed to a double. However, Stephen, the General Manager from Rufflets, called the next day to confirm our booking. When I told him it was my husband’s birthday and we had really wanted a double he was great. He apologised that there was no other rooms available but if he had any cancellations then he would move us, failing that the beds could be pushed together and the hotel would do everything they could to make sure he had a lovely birthday. Irrespective of the fact that I had really wanted a double room I kept the booking because I knew from the phone conversation that this place was going to offer us the type of service that we wanted. Even when I explained to Stephen that I would have liked to book a table in his restaurant but my husband was a picky eater, Stephen spoke to the chef and confirmed that they would make my husband whatever he wanted. I’ve heard of 5 star service, but I really felt this hotel went above and beyond that.

When we drove up to the hotel we were awestruck at how stunning it was, it’s tucked away from the main road and is just beautiful. We checked in and were really pleased to have a lovely room. No one had cancelled so we still had the twin, but it was so lovely we didn’t care. There was a birthday card sitting in the room from Rufflets which I thought was a great touch. Our room was superb, the beds were really comfortable and it was tastefully decorated. The bathroom had a brilliant whirlpool bath and a separate shower in it, which we loved.

At dinner time we went down to the bar to have a drink before our meal, and this is where we were just blown away by this hotel. 2 glasses of champagne were brought over to our table for my husband’s birthday. Then we met Angela Bradley, who treated us like royalty. We have never received better service, to say this lady goes above and beyond is an understatement. She put us at complete ease and talked us through the menu, Stephen had kindly passed on information about my husband’s dietary requirements and Angela was attentive to this. We were seated at the best table in the restaurant, overlooking the beautiful gardens and our meal was just a dream. The staff are so professional and friendly. The meal was cooked to perfection; its taste and presentation were great. After dinner we went back to the bar and Angela came to check on us frequently, it just made us feel so welcomed. All the staff at Rufflets are brilliant, but Angela just blew us away with her professionalism and friendliness, she really made our visit.

We had a great sleep and our morning breakfast was lovely, we then went for a walk through the gardens and we couldn’t believe how well kept they were. They were really breathtaking and we could have quite happily spent the day there.

So, to conclude this ridiculously long love letter to Rufflets. This place offers a world class service, I can fault them on absolutely nothing (and I can be very hard to please). The building is beautiful, the gardens are breathtaking, the rooms are elegant, the food is amazing, the staff’s attention to detail is immense and finally, Angela Bradley is a complete star. Thank you for making my husband’s birthday one that he’ll never forget, we’ll certainly be back to stay with you again.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Heather

What can I say - to be able to read a review (love letter) like this makes us all so very proud - and underlines why we love what we do - we can and do make our guests very happy!

Notwithstanding the fact that we couldnt offer a double bedded room (and we did try hard to do this as well), your experience of our professional, friendly and caring service, along with what is a beautiful hotel is quite simply what we aim to deliver.

So, thank you so much for the comments - the whole team have really enjoyed reading them - and Angela, as you say, is a star.

In fact, I am grateful to be able to say that they are all stars - which is perhaps the reason why we are awarded gold stars by visitscotland.

Hoping to see you both again soon,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    117
    39
    4
    5
See reviews for
124
369
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have not stayed here recently. Can’t think why we have left it so long!
The refurbishment of the public rooms gives them a more modern look.
Our room was lovely and the fact that there was a card welcoming us back made us feel valued.
The food was excellent and beautifully presented. One minor observation about the service – it was it was almost too good, in that we would have liked a bit more of a break between courses.
The staff were friendly and attentive.
The whole experience was elegant and relaxing - a great break from our normal hectic lifestyles.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Maggie

Thank you for the kind comments - and I am sorry that the service was perhaps on the 'slick' side.

When you come back (and I hope it will be soon) we will make sure that we slow it all down a bit for you.

So pleased that you like the refurbed front hall area. We do look to invest into the fabric of the building on an annual basis to make sure that we keep it all looking good and fresh.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights spurred on by very positive trip advisor reviews. Grateful that the manager Steven carried our bags up 3 flights of stairs-there is no lift.

We were upgraded to a turret room-modern cushions and headboard but the other furniture was rather old fashioned. The ironing board leaning next to the old foosty smelling wardrobe was badly stained. There was also a Corby trouser press!

We were surprised to see blankets and sheets on the bed instead of a duvet-is it just us or is that rather old fashioned and not as hygienic?

Yes as another reviewer said, you do share the toiletries with the guests before and after you- not a huge problem though.

Positively- we liked the rufus teddy bear on the bed and the homemade shortbread on our room. We had drinks in the hotel bar a couple of times and chatted with a nice chap behind the bar who advised us on whiskies. We loved the gorgeous turquoise lounge room.

The staff were all very friendly and the grounds are very well cared for - the gardens are beautiful. Breakfast was good. Overall we felt the hotel catered more for the over 60s and this is reflected in the guests staying there, we were the youngest ones there by a mile.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Happy_red

Many thanks for the feedback after your stay - and I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon in Scotland.

We do look at these comments, as it is important to us, and helps us improve what we do.

Issues such as blankets and ironing boards are being addressed as we go through the bedroom refurbishments, and a good number of our rooms do have duvets already.

With regards toiletries in the bathrooms - we do use the large bottles of Molten Brown shower gels etc, and they are cleaned and re-filled for each new guest.

We feel that it is better not to restrict the amount of this top-class product by using the tiny bottles that you get in many hotels.

And of course, the cakes of soaps are individually wrapped and not shared or re-used.

Finally, I am sorry that we were unable to get a copy of Chariots of Fire for you on DVD. We searched all round the town, but it seems that with the new students in residence, all the copies have been snapped up.

With my best regards,

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

On our 30th Anniversary, we started our celebrations with a break to beautiful Scotland. We stopped firstly a Castle Hotel in Peebles, which in itself was quite authentic. What I didn't know was that we were booked in at Rufflets in the Gilroy Suite...really very beautiful and wonderful,and the weather was just perfect. The gardens were immaculate. As for breakfast...the scrambled egg and smoked salmon was out of this world...as was the dinner. The staff were equally pleasant and welcoming. All in all, Rufflets is definately a place to stay for old fashioned luxury in a modern day.
Thereafter, finished our celebrations with a holiday in Mauritius at another hotel which was equally classy but set in an entirely different location.

Room Tip: The Gilroy Suite which is situated in the main house and is centrally located giving brilliant views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Rufflets for 3 nights with friends from America. It's a while since I've been and couldn't believe the transformation since its refurbishment. It's a beautiful, peaceful and luxurious place to spend a few nights. The staff were very helpful, friendly and professional which made our stay more pleasurable.

Would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: According to my friends all the rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Glad to read that you approve of the refurb work that we have done this year - all part of a rolling programme to keep things at the right standard and quality.

Hope that your American friends enjoyed the Scottish hospitality as well!

Many thanks for the review and do let me know when you are planning to return.

Regards

Stephen Owen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Rufflets is a family owned property, and feels like you are staying at the home of a friend vs a chain hotel. Very comfortable, and high tea was a real treat, I would recommend having your tea in the middle room with the bay window, where you are sitting in full view of a beautiful garden.
Will stay there again when in St. Andrews.

Room Tip: Suggest a asking for a room facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Monica

We were really pleased to hear how much you had enjoyed your stay at Rufflets, and hope that you had a safe trip home.

We do look to provide a hotel that does offer the homely comfort along with top quality accommodation, cuisine, and service.

Hope to see you on your next trip over to Scotland.

With my best wishes

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My daughter always wanted her wedding reception at the Rufflets and last Saturday her dream came true. From the outset the staff could not have been more friendly. Sarah Young the Wedding coordinator was both professional and friendly. The setting of the Rufflets with its wonderful gardens and amazing Garden Suite make it the perfect venue. Could we have changed anything - no way. From start to finish amazing. Warm friendly staff greeted us with drinks and canapes. Wedding breakfast was outstanding with attentive staff serving wine. In the evening the Buffet was served without a hitch. Words cannot describe the overall experience provided and the next morning whilst sitting in the beautiful gardens waiting to go into breakfast we could only reflect on a truly truly perfect day. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Country House Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Many, many thanks for the wonderful feedback, and we are so pleased that the wedding all went so well.

Sarah and her team do invest so much time and effort into the planning of such important events, and it is clear that the hard work pays off.

Hope to see you all again soon.

Regards

Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rufflets Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rufflets Country House Hotel

Address: Strathkinness Low Road, St. Andrews KY16 9TX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rufflets Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury family hotel has been under the same family ownership for over 60 years. Located a few minutes’ drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rufflets Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rufflets Country House Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland
Rufflets Country Hotel
Rufflets Country St Andrews

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rufflets Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.