We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing start” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia St Andrews - CLOSED

Bella Italia St Andrews
39 Bell Street, St. Andrews KY16 9UR, Scotland
01334. 476 268
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing start”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Having booked a table here on Sunday for 5 (adults) we arrived to find a table (not very clean at that) only suitable for four waiting for us. We asked the manager for a larger table & were advised there wasn't one, he walked away. We were about to leave when I called him over again, suggesting what was an obvious solution (an easy movement of tables to accommodate us) which he eventually did. but his couldn't careless attitude was not all what I would expect from this establishment. Having been to several of these all over the UK, it was very disappointing.

We were then served by a lovely, cheery and helpful waitress Kirsty. She alone turned around this dining experience for us. However, having spent the best part of £130, I'm not sure I would return

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    20
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“lunch at Bella Italia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch staff were pleasent and food was very good had my granddaughter with us and the staff could not help us enough. I would recommend this for a meal as it is in a pleasent location and has a good atmosphere. Thanks for everything

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch at Bella Italia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stopped in for lunch at Bella Italia and had a very good lunch. The waitress was very nice and suggested some menu options for us. We split a stromboli that was quite a big portion for the two of us. We had great seats near the front windows so we could watch the people go by. We were not rushed and we had a nice relaxing lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The service here was atrocious. They seated us in the worst part of the restaurant at the end of the evening when the restaurant was empty and there were many better places available. The main course came while we were still eating our appetiser and the dishes the main was served on was inconsistent. We both got the Pasta Marco Polo and they were served in two very different dishes which considering this restaurant is a chain is bothersome, the food itself was okay, nothing special though. The portion size seemed a bit small and it was severely under sauced. The Pizza bread with Mozzarella and Garlic butter was the best part of the meal by far and was quite tasty. The drinks are disgustingly overpriced. They were small and you could not taste the alcohol. There are better Italian restaurants in St Andrews and this one is just not worth it at all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most child-friendly restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The best place in St Andrews for families. The service is fantastic. Children's menu is good and the adult menu isn't too bad either. Great value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia St Andrews also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia St Andrews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.