We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed dining in good company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Italia St Andrews - CLOSED

Bella Italia St Andrews
39 Bell Street, St. Andrews KY16 9UR, Scotland
01334. 476 268
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fife
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining in good company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Sitting watching the world go by, enjoying a very nice lasagne and a bottle of wine in a relaxed atmosphere. No wonder it is so busy....remember to book

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    52
    20
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Went for lunch while visiting St Andrews. The waiter had a dirty white shirt on and this was not due to food down it but the lack of washing! The manager was not dressed much better he had a tear in the back of his shirt. There was no service with a smile and a mumble of the specials. The food was mediocre. This is the second time that I have been here and both times the service was terrible. I will not be going back here for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We ate here for a birthday lunch. We were seated in nice table by the window. Our server was very attentive, she gave my father a free drink as there was a mix up with his starter and she gave us some of her own special spicy sauce which she brought the states. The food was tasty and good. I would defiantly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice meal and a gluten free menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Very busy on a Saturday night. I would advise you to book - even if you only phone 40 mins beforehand, staff will do what they can to accommodate you.

We really enjoyed our pizzas. My vegetarian gluten free pizza was great.

Friendly staff and quick service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fairly plain, nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Popped in for lunch quite busy, thought the decor was very plain didn't excite me! My meal was also very plain a standard thin pizza with little cheese, sauce and seasoning. Probably wouldn't return here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Italia St Andrews also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Italia St Andrews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.