We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as great as I'd hoped” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Rusacks Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not as great as I'd hoped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed one night in April. Unfortunately didn't realise the front of the hotel faced the main road, which was extremely busy all the time. Our room was very hot, but couldn't leave The window open due to the noise, we had all the heating off but it was unbearable. We were offered another room, but as we'd had a discounted room, we were going to have to pay to change rooms! Had a completely sleepless night, not ideal. Our room was a bit tired, needed some talc. Also the tv covered most of the mirror, so a nightmare to try and dry hair. On the upside staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a links facing room, will cost though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    159
    67
    33
    14
See reviews for
60
237
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our room had great views across the 18th fairway of the Old Course.Apart from breakfast,we didn't use the bar or restaurant at the hotel.The breakfast service was excellent and the full Scottish breakfast delicious.St Andrews doesn't have much to offer if you are not a golfer but enough to keep you interested for a short break.We travelled out to see the RRS Discovery and Scone Palace on the same day.
The standard price for this hotel is expensive especially if you want a room with a view.

Room Tip: Our room was an executive room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Spent one evening at Macdonald Rusacks while my son toured St. Andrews. Had debated between this hotel and the Fairmont but found a better price on Macdonald's and acquiesced. I I should have made a different decision. The hotel is beautifully situated for golfers with the course within walking distance but this is its only advantage from what I can see.

Knowing that it was being refreshed, we wrote in advance and requested a room that was refurbished and looked over the water. We received no reply except a computer generated "we'll be in touch soon." Our room was indeed up to date, but located in the basement and looked out over the parking lot...a land rover sat fifteen feet from our back window. The furnishings were lovely, but poorly situated and we were cramped and unable to unpack our bags - no place for clothing allocated except in the closet. The mattress was bouncy and felt like box springs - I rolled off the bed during the night and woke up with a terrible backache.

The heat was not on when we entered the room and there were no instructions on how to turn it on -- room was cold for the first several hours. There is no internet in the hotel except something run by the city which you could choose to hook up for a few hours for considerable cost. (FYI - The Golf Hotel a block away has free internet and you can enjoy a drink in their bar while you check your email - they were gracious and lovely about sharing it with you.) Phone calls at the Rusacks are about $5.00 per local call.

The breakfast was fine though nothing exceptional and again we had a table located far away from the view.

The staff was nice but there was a defensive quality to their interactions...as though they were familiar with fielding difficult questions by their guests and anticipated that you would not be happy. At one point, when asking about the internet, a staff member suggested I write a letter as they knew it was inconvenient for guests to hook into a city internet but the upper management didn't seem to understand and refused to get private internet.

All in all...don't bother with this hotel. It might get its act together at some point, but its clearly got some management issues that are keeping it from being a "Great" place to stay.

Room Tip: request something with a view of the water and out of the basement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Felt somehow that this hotel was missing something; it was a bit soulless. They are trying hard but not quite succeeding. Our room was newly refurbished with a stunning view of the golf course, but it was a little small and they really had not thought out the configuration of the room properly. They could have made much better use of the space. We ended up moving furniture around so we could look at the view and fit our luggage in. However the bathroom was lovely and the staff were helpful.

The food was nothing very special unfortunately and everything was either highly salted or extremely sweet - does the chef smoke I wonder?!

There is refurbishment going on at present so there is quite a bit of disruption and noise during the day. Also be warned that car parking is quite limited.

This is a very popular hotel which will never be short of guests due to its proximity to St. Andrews golf course, but I feel it could try harder in the food department.

.

Room Tip: Ask fr one overlooking the golf course - Seve Ballesteros is a good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

the hotel staff were all really friendly and helpful. we had a bit of a hic up getting our room- 1 1/2 hrs late. it was worth waiting for as we have a lovely view of the golf course and the beach, they gave us a nice bottle of wine in the room which was a nice gesture. only had breakfast in the hotel which also was nice. would recommend a stay in this hotel if in the area

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the golf course and beach nice. high floors have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even though I had booked the hotel through a discount website, we were allocated the "Bing Crosby" Room on the 4th floor which had a lovely corner window with views over the golf course and beach.
Room very clean and comfortable.
A bit disorganised at breakfast so we had to wait a while for our food order but otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the shore rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were allocated what we took to be a disabled room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel which was a really good size and had a large modern shower room. The room was surprisingly quiet given the hotels location on a reasonably busy road.
Reception staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
We dined on the first night in the Gastropub downstairs which was very good value with good quality food (and Bavarian weissbier).
The bar in the hotel is bit pricey but has great views.
Car parking is a slight issue but the hotel staff will keep car keys at the desk so residents can double/treble park in the limited area available. This was not a big problem.
Having stayed in a number of Macdonald Hotels in Scotland I would rate the Rusacks highly particularly because of the eating alternatives available.
Breakfast was of the standard we have come to expect from Macdonalds with very good service in the hotel dining room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, Owner at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.