We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel in a Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Save Saved
You added Macdonald Rusacks Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in St. Andrews
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Nice Hotel in a Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We just returned form a 3 night stay at the Mcadonald Rusack's. There were four of us in two rooms and we all enjoyed the experience.
The hotel service was excellent. We experienced a long delay in our arrival to St Andrews due to weather conditions. We arrived at 9:45 at night and had not yet had dinner. The front desk directed us to a pub and unprompted called the pub, asking them to set up a table for us. It's those little touches that go a long way with us.
Our 22 year old son golfed the Old Course and could not have been happier to sit in a dining room overlooking the 1st and 18th hole greens.
The hotel rooms were of ample size-and we had the lowest level of accomodation. The bathrooms were contemporary. If there is one complaint I would have, it is that the room temperature was quite warm during the night, even with the radiators turned off. One of the porters explained there was a problem with our floor, though.

  • Liked — The location, the service and the decor
  • Disliked — The room temperature
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    124
    55
    29
    13
See reviews for
48
176
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

This hotel is amazing! If you want to stay close to the Old Course this is the hotel for you! It overlooks the 18th hole! It was truly a great experience!!!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

Spent Hogmanay at The Rusacks. It was a fantastic experience which I would highly recommend to anyone. Our room was a junior suite overlooking the Old Course and R&A and was lovely. The meal was outstanding and as our table was situated in one of the bay windows of the restaurant again the view was great - even at night. Our meal was followed by a ceilidh, which was great fun. The staff here are fantastic and the restaurant is superbly run - even on a hectic night like Hogmanay. This 4 star hotel puts many 5 stars to shame!

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, IRELAND
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

We stayed 1 night - class hotel - class food - class views.

Service was of a top quality - we were able to check-in at 10.45am which was great.

There is a small enough car-park attached to the hotel but they alow double parking as long as you leave the keys with reception.

Reception very friendly and knowledgeable -no leisure centre etc but otherwise very comfy..

Breakfast is a gourmet feast -buffet & hot options ..top notch..

Hotel is full of nice annex rooms ..highly recommended..

  • Liked — quality of service
  • Disliked — no leisure centre
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

We stayed in the Rusacks on a Saturday night while attending a friend's wedding. I booked early and got a double room on lastminute.com for £100. We also managed to wangle breakfast out of the hotel direct!

The location is fantastic, just a short walk into the centre of St Andrews and great views onto the golf course from the north side of the hotel, including from the breakfast room.

Unfortunately our room (119) didn't have a view, other than of the side of another building! The room itself was fine, big comfy bed, flatscreen tv including some cable channels. There was also a massive shower in the bathroom which was great. However, the room was right beside a draughty fire escape and the bathroom and side of the room which was against this wall were absolutely freezing. The room was also located above the kitchen and we were woken at 6.45am by the jazz/swing classic 'How D'ya Like Your Eggs in the Morning?' being blasted at full volume for some unknown reason.

Breakfast itself tasted lovely and I had the best black pudding I've ever eaten however the service was appallingly slow. It took a over 10 mins for our order to be taken and 15-20 mins for the food to actually arrive.

The decor of the hotel is very twee and Scottish which no doubt appeals to the clientele it's aimed at, however attention to detail and the comfort of guests wouldn't go amiss.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cold room and poor service at breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

The Rusacks hotel is in an excellent position for both the town centre and the golf courses. There is a small car park at the back of the hotel with further free on-street parking close by. We stayed in November and couldn't get into the hotel car park so I imagine it's vitually impossible in the height of tourist season in the summer.

The hotel has a wonderful reception area, open lobby with comfortable seating around a large fireplace, the bar and restaurant also offer fantastic views over the Old Course, beach and sea. Check in was very frendly with the receptionist offering good advice on pubs and directions to restaurants in St. Andrews.

The only slight disappointment was the room, probably one of the smallest double rooms that I have ever stayed in. The room was clean and functional although a little dated, but I guess it served its function.

  • Liked — The location.
  • Disliked — The rooms were small.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2007

We paid for an upgraded room, but the room was tiny. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the public areas are very good. Superficially our room looked good, but there many practical problems: far too hot , impossible to regulate temperaure, poor shower, poor television reception, extremely rickety windows. The location and outlook at the front of the hotel is excellent, but overall I wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Amex and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.