We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Rusacks Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in St. Andrews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Although I have previously reviewed Rusacks(more than once!) I wanted to mention some changes since my last stay earlier this year.The bar is now in the hands of the brilliant Adrian Pieracconi owner of Rocca restaurant in the hotel.The make-over is stunning-probably the most stylish bar in St.Andrews.Reception staff, as ever ,welcoming and friendly as were all staff in the dining room.Our room was lovely the food was excellent( I can highly recommend the set winter menu in Rocca) and we are back in December!

Room Tip: Ask at reception about room availability when you check in.The staff go out of their way to make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    157
    67
    33
    14
See reviews for
60
236
15
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We were visiting our student son over half-term and enjoyed 3 nights of comfort in a great location. Ambiance and service were first class, with breakfast overlooking the 18th green and the West Sands a highlight.

We managed to get a great deal on the hotel website.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 via mobile

A lovely hotel. I stayed here for work and it was comfy yet professional. It's located right on the edge of the golf course and St Andrews is just gorgeous.

The only thing that might put you off (although not if your a golf fanatic) is the rather obscure collages of golfers in turtlenecks.

Otherwise, great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

7 of us came on a pilgrimage to the home of golf. The location overlooking the 18th made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up. The twin rooms were spacious and beds comfortable. Bathrooms good size and clean. Would have preferred a bigger bath and more hanging space for clothes. Breakfast choice good and cooked Scottish breakfast hot and tasty but only 1 sausage and bacon slice. Service polite but pretty formal. No complaints and would return in an instant. I was told by a caddie you either get a good room or a bad one. I was on 3rd floor with great views. I've been told room 326 has twin double beds and a great view.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

This is a lovely hotel hard on the edge of the Old Course. It is well managed and attentive. Food was four-star and the service was uncommonly attentive and engaged. In a five-day stay I had no occasion for disappointment; and was consistently and pleasantly surprised by attentive staff. One hears of spotty and inconsistent service in Scotland; this hotel gets it right!

Room Tip: The end rooms are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Spent two nights at the hotel. We have stayed in many McDonald Hotels and have come to expect a certain standard of room. We were disapointed to find our room was cramped and tired. The furnature was chipped and the walls marked. At £200 a night we expect better. The hotel was full so there was no chance of a move. We did have a view over the car park to the golf course, however, and that was great.
The location of the hotel is superb. We ate in the Rocca Grill and could not fault it. Overall our weekend was very enjoyable however if that had been my first experience of rooms at a McDonald Hotel, I would not return.

Room Tip: Insist you get a romm in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This hotel was so dissapointing!in everyway.The room was very cold no heating,staff couldnt help.Noisy from pipework.Breakfast a dissaster,people queing for half an hour to get a seat.once seated took 20mins to give an order,then had to remind waiter we were waiting eventually got breakfast which was abissmal poor quality and choice.It was so poor we left a night early although paid for.Truly spoilt what was meant to be a special weekend dropping our son off at university.For its location and top status a shameful representation of st andrews and scotland.they must have no need to try!!!!!!a captive audiance.

Room Tip: Dont stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Rusacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.