We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shandon House

Shandon House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shandon House
Save
You added Shandon House to your Saves list
10 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 78 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Dorset, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked two rooms here in November, over the busy graduation period, and everything was to a 5* standard: room cleanliness and the quality of the breakfasts were particular highlights. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
12
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From warm welcome to storing our bikes, to booking us a table for dinner. Liz & Stuart couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Nothing was too much trouble & we had a really lovely stay. Our room was clean, comfortable and cosy, and breakfast was superb.
We'll certainly be delighted to come back in the future!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We once again took our annual golf trip at St. Andrews and yet again the trip was all that we hoped for, not just the Golf but the excellent accommodation that we chose to be our base.
Shandon house is a traditional terraced property run as a guest house by Elizabeth and Stuart, it is the friendliest B & B I have ever stayed. The web site referred to a good breakfast to set yourself up for a days golf and I am so pleased I chose to take my party here.
From the moment we arrived we were greeted with the most warmest and reassuring of welcomes, the house is warm and beautifully decorated. The attention to detail is very very professional without losing the personal touch that really makes a difference.
Shandon house would suit small and medium size parties who are in st andrews for golf or conference or sightseeing, the breakfasts are very nice indeed and there is plenty of choice, nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are very well furnished and decorated and the beds are very comfortable. Very homely decor and personal effects.
Stuart and Elizabeth are very friendly and helpful and are very knowledgeable regarding the town, the golf and the needs of their guests. If you are taking a party to St Andrews then this bed and breakfast is ideally situated for the town, the university and the courses, it is surrounded by the bars and restaurants but is sited in a small square ensuring free parking and peaceful sleeping.....all in all very very nice, charming and friendly and very reasonably priced....we will be making this our first phone call whenever we are visiting this area, a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ideal For those who are in a party who prefer the smaller clean and cosy accommodation, beautifully...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Three of us shared a room-small-but comfy at the Shandon House. We loved the location-we played golf, and walked to the St Andrews club house. We walked to pubs and restaurants, and felt very safe at night.
The owners are wonderfully gracious, and will go out of their way to see that you are comfortable. Very nice breakfast, great coffee, etc. Would go back and would definitely recommend. Excellent value, extremely clean, updated home.

Room Tip: Just remember rooms are small, but very adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at Shandon House for two nights - 12th and 13th of October 2012. We were attending a family wedding in the town. The proprietors, Stuart and Elizabeth, could not do enough for us. They have the local knowledge that saves you the essential limited time to maximise your holiday break. They had all the correct answers to all our questions. I have stayed at many hotels worldwide and been on many cruise liners and I can guarantee that the breakfast that is served in the dining room will exceed your expectations. The variety is outstanding and they even have a daily breakfast special. The food is cooked and presented with loving care and perfection. We were a family of 10 and I can't thank Stuart and Elizabeth enough for looking after all of us during our stay. Book your stay in St Andrews at Shandon House - I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed........... John Graham

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful place to stay. Clean rooms and great breakfast. So close to st Andrews courses- owners are very friendly and truly bend over backwards to help.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

I travelled to St Andrews to attend a wedding being held at the university and chose Shandon House mainly because of it's close proximity to the venue. I have to say it was a great choice! Owners couldn't have been more helpful, both by email and in person, and the B&B is immaculate. I had a twin bedded room with private bathroom across the hall-both spotless with modern decor and facilities. Breakfast (full Scottish) was cooked to perfection. There is a free car park situated directly in front of Shandon House and parking in adjacent streets if it's full. I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shandon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shandon House

Address: 10 Murray Place, St. Andrews KY16 9AP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Shandon House St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shandon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.