We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange at St Andrews

The Grange at St Andrews
Grange Road, St. Andrews KY16 8LJ, Scotland
+44 1334 472670
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Price range: $18 - $58
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Grange Inn is a lovely 17th Century converted farmhouse. The Restaurant serves modern Scottish cuisine using the freshest of local produce available.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Excellent experience last week at The Grange. Helpful, friendly staff, great value exquisite food. Can't wait to go again. Everything was perfect. Thank you.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    20
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great value lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Very much enjoyed this lunch, the food was delicious and very good value. The staff were pleasant and helpful - they offered pasta with tomato sauce for our daughter, although they had told us when we booked that they didn't do a kids menu (and she enjoyed the main courses that we ordered too). I couldn't exactly say it was child-friendly as it was a little formal to be very comfortable with a potentially noisy and rambunctious child - but this is just a sign that it is a very well-appointed, adult space. Definitely would go again.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Praise indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

Went to the Grange for a meal with our daughter who was up visiting.After we had ate our meal she said that it was the best meal she had ever had in St.Andrews.What an accolade.The staff are friendly and attentive without being intrusive,and we will certainly keep going back..

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, Fife
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Setting, service and price first class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

We visited the Grange at the end of November and although it was not our first visit it was the first time for lunch. At £15 for a three course quality lunch the Grange is well worth a visit. Service is always good in this family run business. Food is excellent with plenty of variety and choice for a set menu. Great surroundings and location with views over beautiful St Andrews. No member of our party was disappointed with their selections and on the Friday we visited it was very busy. Always a good sign. If you have not taken in the Grange on your visit to this great university town then you are missing out.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Five of us had a beautiful meal last night. Menus were well thought out but we all felt the food and flavours were so much better than we had expected after reading the menu . The staff were very professional but at the same time friendly .It all added up to a great evening

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grange at St Andrews also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Grange at St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange at St Andrews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.