We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Awesome food and service.”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocca Grill

Rocca Grill
The Links | The Links, St. Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
01334 472549
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocca Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 107 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Price range: $31 - $86
Cuisines: Italian, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Rocca St Andrews our recipe for success is a fusion of exquisite food with a backdrop of one of the world's most famous sporting locations - the Old Course. Like the many champions that have graced the hallowed course, we too top the leaderboard as one of only 25 restaurants in the country with three AA Rosettes in 2013 - a reward for the creativity and passion of the Rocca family. The stunning view over the 18th means guests enjoy much more than just a delicious meal. Our menu features Scottish cooking with an Italian twist. Fresh ingredients are sourced from artisan producers either on our doorstep or in Tuscany and there is something to suit every palate. With a real pedigree in both our front-of-house and in our kitchen, you can rest assured a visit to Rocca will live long in the memory. Come and visit us and let our passion for food become your passion for delicious dining.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
““Awesome food and service.””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I really like the ambiance of this restaurant. The setting and the food is excellent. Price is worth paying for, it is not expensive considering it does have 3 well deserved AA rosettes. the service is excellent and friendly, a very well run establishment. I visited this restaurant with two work colleagues last night and we had a most enjoyable evening. I definitely recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    51
    14
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Freiberg, Germany
2 reviews
“Outstanding Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Was lucky enough to be taken to Rocca Grill for my graduation in November after many hard years studying in St Andrews.
Everything about our meal was excellent espescially on such a busy day.
My parents had travelled to Fife from Germany are were not dissapointed the food was amazing
as was the service and attention to detail.We were also celabrating one of my parties birthday and we received without asking a special birthday sweet with "Happy Birthday" written on the plate in chocolate.
Well done Mr Rocca for making this day so special.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not Rocking at Rocca”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We were returning as a group after a successful meal last year at this venue. It was a totally different experience this year and apart from the delicious food not a lot else was good.
Service in the R bar prior to being seated was excellent. We went through to the private dining in Little Rocca where it was cold and airy. We asked several times for a fan to be switched off and the heating turned up....it was at best comfortable towards the end of the evening. We had to ask for our water to be topped up, the staff stopped pouring the wine for us and latterly no-one was around we had to go looking for them and it was before 10pm!! We were not offered the Christmas menu as offered previously, we were not given the discount for groups over 10 and that seemed to cause a major issue with the maitre'de who was also very keen to point out that he knew nothing about this or that it was even on the web site - know your product comes to mind! The company was great but the service was very poor.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roccamgmt, Manager at Rocca Grill, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Rocca on trip advisor. I apologise for the confusion with the menu choice , we should have clarifed at the time of the reservation that you wanted to dine from the Festive menu with the discount for groups over 10. I was aware that the restaurant was cold on the evening you dined, we had the heating turned up and there was no air conditioning on just a fresh air vent that we cannot contol. I have spoken to the staff working on the evening and have made them very aware that the service you received was not up to our normal standard. I am pleased that you enjoyed our food and I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Sue Mackay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top notch evening meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were looking for a special night out for a celebration and we certainly got one!
Thoroughly enjoyed the service and absolutely delicious cocktails in the Rbar before dinner. And we continued to be looked after brilliantly, with genuinely friendly & attentive service for the remainder of the evening. The attention to detail was such, that even when I left the table momentarily, my napkin was refolded neatly & carefully put back onto the chair.
The quality of food and wine throughout was superb, with plenty of great choices.
Can't fault it and can't wait to go back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“Dinner with a view...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Last week I went to the Rocca Bar and Grill in St Andrews for the first time. The whole experience was wonderful from start to finish. We started the evening with a drink in the Rbar, a beautifully decorated, classy bar with a view over the Old Course at St Andrews. The atmosphere was both relaxed and sophisticated. When the restaurant opened at 6.30, we headed through. The staff were professional and attentive. We were lucky enough to be sat at the table by the window which looks out over the 18th hole of the Old Course. making the whole experience even more enjoyable. Both the presentation of the food and the taste were sublime. A seasonal menu meant that the dishes were fresh and tasty. All three courses were lovely and finished off nicely with some authentic Italian coffee served with some beautiful, sweet nibbles.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocca Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rocca Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocca Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.