We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages
Save
You added Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages to your Saves list
St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Location and Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Balmashie is great for families. Handy for St Andrews but also in the country. The house was well furnished if the pine units are now slightly dated but overall perfectly acceptable. A bit quirky was that the cutlery was really quite cheap and mixed and there were not enough forks. Not a big problem but something it would take £10 to fix.

Don't hesitate.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We were very pleased with our experience of Balmashie Holiday Cottages. Iain and Louise were efficient, friendly and helpful.
We needed pet-free overflow accommodation for our daughter’s family over the Xmas period because our granddaughter Phoebe’s asthma is triggered by our house, where there are usually two dogs. We had heard of the cottages at Balmashie from friends whose house is no longer large enough to cope with family visits. Fortunately Balmashie try to keep at least one cottage pet free! It was a relief to find that the road in had been snow ploughed, that the cottage was very clean, and that a cot and high chair was available for Sarah who is 10 months old. Phoebe, aged 6, was pleasantly surprised to find that there was a Xmas tree in the lounge, and commented “cool”, although it was nice and warm for their arrival. Alexander, aged 10, enjoyed using his new laptop on the wireless internet.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

A very enjoyable stay in wonderful surroundings, with clean, comfortable and well appointed accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

Beautiful setting. Lots for the kids to do outside - playground, sand pit, golf. Golf course great for walks and exploring. Iain and Louise very helpful and realxed with lots of useful information. Cottages clean and comftable. St Andrews very close and lots to do in the area. Our second visit and will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The welcoming gift was very thoughtful, Iains tips for places to visit, and for eating out were very helpful. We were delighted with the cottage, it had everything we needed for our stay.It was nice having our own private patio.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

We had never heard of the cottages at Balmashie and were recommended them by the owner of other accommodation which was full and we were so glad that he did. We stayed in cottage number 9 which was spottlessly clean (which is always top of my list when deciding whether I would come back or not). We have 2 very young children so it was great to put them to bed and sit in the comfort of the living area and relax knowing that there was no ironing, washing & the usual tidying up to do! The play park and the football goals within the grounds were great for our todder. Iain was very helpful as was the detailed information folder contained within the cottage. Oh and of course there is the beautiful St.Andrews and surrounding area with activities a plenty. So what are you waiting for - get booked!

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is our 6th year staying at Balmashie! Accommodation is very clean and comfortable. There are fabulous views from our cottage livingroom, over the golf course over to the sea, so relaxing and perfect!

Iain and Louise are very friendly and helpful. It's always handy each year when they inform us about new places of interest that we can visit with the kids. Our Kids are aged 4 and 6, there are lots of local farms, play parks and historic scotland places to visit in St Andrews along with lots of restaurants to choose from in St Andrews too.

To top it off, Balmashie has it's own putting green, practice golf area, practice green, a football area with mini goals, play park and sandpit which is great for young children to run around and burn off some energy.

There is also St Andrews beaches for lovely walks or picnics.

There are lovely walks over the golf courses from the cottages, the views are stunning and the kids can run around (when the golf course is quiet).

Iain and Louise have managed to negotiate a good deal with a local hotel to use the spa facilities, swimming pool, golf courses and restaurants at a discount, which we took advantage of.

See you again next year Balmashie!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages

Address: St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Specialty Lodging in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balmashie is a charming development of 10 self-catering cottages less than 3 miles from St Andrews. We offer a haven for guests with well equipped cottages and spectacular views over the Torrance and Kittocks Golf Course and out to the North Sea. In the grounds we have a putting green, practice nets and a pitching green with bunkers. For those not taking part in golf we have access to reasonable rates for the Spa facilities at the Fairmont Hotel and are also only minutes from the Fife Coastal Path. For younger guests we have a play area, a games room and football nets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages St. Andrews, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balmashie Premier Holiday Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.