We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of West Port Bar & Kitchen

West Port Bar & Kitchen
170 South Street, St. Andrews KY16 9EG, Scotland
+44 1334 473186
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 108 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dundee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible Service !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Have been here many times and the standard of service seems to drop on every visit! Entered the restaurant and stood for 5 minutes (being stared at by kitchen staff) before a waitress came across and said "You girls alright?". Clearly the answer was no but we asked for a table anyway. No apology or thanks offered for our wait. I must add it was not busy at the time. The service continued as mediocre throughout the meal. Never once asked if everything was ok with our meal or if we had enjoyed it! So on to the food...I had a starter named sautéed tiger king prawns, I may be wrong but I was under the impression that it was either a King Prawn or a Tiger Prawn. Anyway I was presented with six "king prawns" on a bed of lettuce with a few bits of cucumber and cherry tomatoes. It was tasty I admit but I really grudge paying £1 per prawn (which were on the small side in any case).... awful value for money. The rest of our meal was ok but nothing spectacular. There are plenty of places in St Andrews to eat and until they raise their standards I won't be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    87
    23
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
1,259 reviews 1,259 reviews
696 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 190 cities Reviews in 190 cities
3,620 helpful votes 3,620 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink & watch the Rugby!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Visited this lively bar with friends after a great lunch at the 'Seafood Restaurant'. Good selection of cocktails, wines at reasonable prices & good selection of draught beers & lagers.
They have tables at the back with individual tv's, so great to watch the England V Scotland rugby match.
Couple of friends had some food that they thought was poor but I had eaten. Great venue for a drink or two!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little expensive but nice venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Very centrally located, good decor and furnishing, with large beer garden given the size of the property.

Beer is varied in selection but definitely not cheap, but probably relatively well priced for the location given the riches of the locals and tourists.

Food is nice, well presented with good variety.

Overall good place to eat and drink if you're looking for a nice well presented location. There are cheaper places that are up to standard.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“How all pubs should be...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Despite having lived near St Andrews for 29 years, I had never been in this place before a couple of weeks ago, and have now been in it twice.

On the outside it looks like a fairly normal, albeit well-run, pub, but inside it's been developed over a few rooms on different levels, with modern, tasteful and understated furniture and decor. At lunch time, most of the customers are in to eat, and there is a good choice of menu items and different packages. There's also a good wine list and about eight good house wines that are available by the glass. Of course, there's a good choice of ales and beers too.

Service is speedy and friendly.

The food itself is good - it's pub/bistro food but none the worse for that. The first time I was there I had the beer-battered haddock and chips, which is simple enough food, but wonderful if done properly as it was here. Fresh fish cooked for just the right length of time, big home made chips, peas, a bit of garnish and best of all, all piping hot. What more could you want. The second time I had char-grilled chicken caesar salad, which was also very good. All in all, a very nice place for lunch in St Andrews.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“best onion rings EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful - sorted out a large table for our group at peak of lunchtime .... If you do go there try the piri piri onion rings - we were almost fighting over them! all the mains were great too - 7 of us and all very happy with our lunch!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Port Bar & Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to West Port Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Port Bar & Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.