We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful experience - never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Dining Room

The Dining Room
11-13 Crails Lane, St. Andrews KY16 9NR, Scotland
01334 467822
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 107 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awful experience - never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We wanted to experience a lovely lunch - and were hugely disappointed. When we came at 12.15 pm, there was just one gentleman eating there. HeI left about 15 minutes after we came. We ordered quite quickly. Then came quite a few Asian guests. We got our starters at 12.40 pm. Then all other guests got their starters, their main courses - and we waited and waited and waited, At 1.15 pm we were told it wouldn't be long now. We ordered nothing special, everything was from the lunch menu. At 1.40 pm, we got got our mains. 2 were okay, one was absolutely tasteless. We would have returned it - but we were already much too late and could not afford more waiting time. The guy serving there, was always chatting with the other guests and we felt completely ignored. Will never go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    16
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

5 of us Went here for a meal whilst visiting St. Andrews. The place was near on empty when we went in. All though the food was fairly filling I didn't think it was all that and actually fairly average and was a bit pricey for what it was. The service was ok. I would eat there again but wouldn't be my first choice. A fairly average meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good wee place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visited midweek without making a reservation and had no trouble getting a table. The staff were very friendly and efficient. They could not have been more so. From where I was seated I could at times see the area behind the bar where there was a hand washing sink. This was used repeatedly by staff and the overall cleanliness of the place is good. We had a very nice authentic meal for two, beautifully presented. The restaurant decor is not plush but quite rustic iand it is pleasant and relaxing. It is located in one of the many closes (lanes) off Market street. Ther were lots of golfers and locals eating there. I would recommend it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Expensive food and poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Unfriendly and inefficient staff. We were made to wait downstairs before being shown to our table despite having a reservation, then were seated in the upstairs room, which is in desperate need of refurbishment. The food is still OK - we have been eating there for years, although primarily takeaway. Unfortunately it is unbelievably expensive for what is really just decent Chinese food. The staff did not seem to communicate with each other, as three waiters/waitresses came over to ask about the same things. Every time we finished a course, the waitress would come and ask whether she should bring the next course - I have previously worked in hospitality myself and thought it was a given that once the starter's finished the main should arrive. It was also unusual that when the drinks arrived on a tray, it was put down at the end of the table and left, so we had to help ourselves to glasses and bottles from it. Won't go back here anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredibly good Chinese food in the UK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We came upon The Dining Room almost by accident. We were looking for lunch, and saw a sidewalk sign, so decided to try it. First clue that it was good - we were the only Caucasians there. We weren't sure what some of the items were on the menu, and the server was very gracious about explaining the options. We ordered the set menu, with Korean style tempura mushrooms and Chinese chicken wings. Both were excellent. We had Singapore noodles and a beef noodle dish the server recommended, and they were very tasty. After some issues with other ethnic restaurants in the UK, we were pleasantly surprised to find such a good Chinese restaurant in St. Andrews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dining Room also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.